Skip to main content

Neuroscience & Behavior Program

The Neuroscience and Behavior Program at UMass Amherst is an interdepartmental graduate degree-granting academic unit that brings together faculty members from various departments to provide cutting-edge research training.


  • Jeffery Blaustein named fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS)

    NSB Professor Jeffrey Blaustein has been named a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) for their distinguished efforts to advance science or its application.  According to a press release, Dr. Blaustein was recognized for “distinguished research in behavioral neuroendocrinology, with exceptional contributions toward understanding the cellular processes by which steroid hormones act in neurons, particularly with respect to reproductive behavior.”  Congratulations to Jeff.

  • Heather Richardson study suggests teen binge drinking effects may last a lifetime

    NSB faculty member Heather Richardson's study on a study that suggests teen binge drinking effects may last a lifetime has been published in the October 29 issue of The Journal of Neuroscience.  According to a recent UMass press release, Heather Richardson and other researchers from UMass (including current NSB student Wanette Vargas) and Louisiana State University examined myelin at the end of the binge-drinking period and found that it was reduced in the prefrontal cortex of the binge drinking adolescent rats. In a separate experiment, they examined myelin several months later after testing for adult drinking behaviors and found that adolescent alcohol drinking caused significant white matter loss and damage to myelin in the prefrontal cortex. 

  • Luke Remage-Healey receives the Endocrine Society Early Investigator Award

    NSB faculty member Luke Remage-Healey won the 2015 Endocrine Society Early Investigator Award.  This award is given to early career investigators in recognition of their accomplishments in Endocrine Research.  Recipients receive a monetary award, one-year complimentary membership to the Society, one-year complimentary access to the Society's online journals, and public recognition of research accomplishments in the recipients' home town and various Society mediums.  Congratulations to Luke!

Colloquia and Events

Each colloquium starts at 4:00pm, preceded by refreshments from 3:30-4:00pm.

  • 2015

    Sleep and synaptic plasticity: more than meets the eye

    Morrill Science Center II, Room 222

    Marcos Frank

    Professor, Medical Sciences, Washington State University Spokane

    Bethany Jones, Janna Mantua and Rebecca Spencer

  • 2015

    Journey into molecular machinery of sleep

    Morrill Science Center II, Room 222

    Ying-Hui Fu

    Professor, Department of Neurology, University of California, San Francisco

    Eric Bittman and Emily Manoogian

  • 2015

    Harmonic organizations of auditory cortex

    Morrill Science Center II, Room 222

    Xiaoqin Wang

    Professor of Biomedical Engineering, Neuroscience and Otolaryngology
    Director, Laboratory of Auditory Neurophysiology
    Johns Hopkins University

    David Moorman

  • 2015

    Variability, modulation, and homeostasis in neurons and networks

    Morrill Science Center II, Room 222

    Eve Marder

    Victor and Gwendolyn Beinfield Professor of Neuroscience, Brandeis University

    Luke Remage-Healey

  • 2015

    Plastic bodies in a plastic world: Multi-disciplinary approaches to the study of environmental chemicals

    Morrill Science Center II, Room 222

    Laura N. Vandenberg

    Assistant Professor, Environmenal Health Sciences, University of Massachusetts Amherst

  • 2015

    Investigating social perception via prosopagnosia

    Morrill Science Center II, Room 222

    Brad Duchaine

    Associate Professor, Dartmouth College

    Rosie Cowell