Gary S. Karpinski

Gary S. Karpinski is author of the Manual for Ear Training and Sight Singing and Anthology for Sight Singing (both published by W. W. Norton, 2007), and Aural Skills Acquisition (Oxford University Press, 2000). He is Professor of Music and Coordinator of the Music Theory programs at the University of Massachusetts, Amherst. He has been president of the Association for Technology in Music Instruction and the New England Conference of Music Theorists, and Chair of the Society for Music Theory Pedagogy Interest Group. His publications have appeared in such journals as Music Theory Spectrum, the Journal of Music Theory Pedagogy, and The Computer and Music Educator.

L. Poundie Burstein

L. Poundie Burstein is Professor of Music Theory at Hunter College and the Graduate Center of the City University of New York. He has also taught at Queens College, Mannes College, and Columbia University; held an endowed chair at the University of Alabama; and from 2013–15 served as president of the Society for Music Theory. He is co-author, with Joseph Straus, of A Concise Introduction to Tonal Harmony ( published by W. W. Norton), and has published articles in Music Theory Spectrum, Journal of Schenkerian Studies, Musical Quarterly, Music Analysis, Women and Music, Journal of Musicology, and elsewhere.

Walter Everett

Walter Everett is Professor of Music in Music Theory at the University of Michigan. He is the author of the two-volume book, The Beatles as Musicians and of The Foundations of Rock, both with Oxford University Press, and is co-author of the book, What Goes On: The Beatles, Their Music and Their World, now in production at Oxford University Press. Professor Everett has taught a wide range of courses in the analysis of rock music, aimed at non-majors, undergraduate music majors, and doctoral students in music theory, has lectured on such topics throughout North American and Europe, and is widely published in academic journals and the popular press alike. His scholarly articles are freely available at

David Huron

David Huron is Arts and Humanities Distinguished Professor of Music at the Ohio State University. Originally from Canada, he holds a PhD in musicology from the University of Nottingham (UK). Over the course of his career he has produced some 130 publications, including two books. His book, Sweet Anticipation: Music and the Psychology of Expectation (MIT Press) received the 2007 Wallace Berry Award. Among other distinctions, Dr. Huron has been the Ernest Bloch Visiting Lecturer at the University of California, Berkeley, the Donald Wort Lecturer at Cambridge University, and the Astor Lecturer at Oxford.

Deborah Stein

Deborah Stein teaches at the New England Conservatory and the Vancouver International Song Institute. She has published on text-music relations in the German Lied: Hugo Wolf’s Lieder and Extensions of Tonality and Poetry into Song: Performance and Analysis of Lieder, co authored with pianist Robert Spillman. She also edited a book of essays targeted to students taking analytical courses: Engaging Music: Essays in Music Analysis. She has taught at the Mannes Institute for Chromaticism in 2006 and served as Vice President for the Society for Music Theory, 2009-11. Stein has lectured on aspects of Lieder in the US and Europe and will speak in Brazil at the Meeting on Vocal Expression in Musical Performance in September, 2015. Stein was the recipient of NEC's Louis and Adrienne Krasner Teaching Excellence Award in 2007 and teaches electives to undergraduate and graduate students on Schenkerian analysis, extended tonality, and ambiguity in tonal music.

Jason Hooper

Jason Hooper is Lecturer in Music Theory at the University of Massachusetts Amherst. Recipient of a Fellowship for Innovative Teaching from the UMass Institute for Teaching Excellence & Faculty Development, he recently redesigned the first-year undergraduate theory curriculum using team-based learning (TBL). He received the Patricia Carpenter Emerging Scholar Award from the Music Theory Society of New York State in 2011 and has read papers at the Society for Music Theory, the Seventh International Conference on Music Theory (Tallinn, Estonia), and the European Music Analysis Conference (Leuven, Belgium).