Volunteer Opportunities


The Muscle Biology and Imaging Lab at the University of Massachusetts Amherst regularly seeks individuals to participate in research studies. View current volunteer opportunities.

Awards and Honors


View awards and honors received by MBIL graduate students.

MBIL Alumni


Doctoral students from the Muscle Biology and Imaging lab have gone onto prestigious positions at top research institutions across the country. View our alumni.

Department and College


Priscilla M. Clarkson, Ph.D.
Laboratory Director
clarkson@kin.umass.edu
(413) 577-3902

Ryan Callahan, B.S.
Research Assistant
rallahan@gmail.com
(413) 577-4703


Robert Hyldahl
Graduate Research Assistant
rhyldahl@kin.umass.edu
(413) 545-6072

Justin Keadle, B.S.
Lab Coordinator
jkeadle@gmail.com
(413) 577-4703

Stephanie Moeckel-Cole, Ph.D.
Post-doctoral Researcher
smcole@kin.umass.edu
(413) 577-4703

Nina Moore, M.S.
Graduate Research Assistant
camoore@kin.umass.edu
(413) 545 6072

Kevin O'Fallon, M.S.
Graduate Research Assistant
kofallon@kin.umass.edu
(413) 545 6072

Karen Riska, M.S.
Graduate Research Assistant
kriska@kin.umass.edu
(413) 545-6072

Ling Xin, M.S.
Graduate Research Assistant
lxin@kin.umass.edu
(413) 545-6072

 

 

Muscle Response Research

Activation of NF-kb in cells outside the myofiber boundary, 3h following eccentric exercise (ECC). A. Confocal images of triple stained 10µm sections from a representative ECC sample for dystrophin (dys=blue), the p-65 subunit of NF-kb (p65=green) and nuclei (topro3=red). White square in merged image denotes the boundaries of the inset image. Scale bar in top 3 images and merged image = 20µm; scale bar in inset image = 10µm. Read the abstract.

Resistance Exercise and Cancer

Dr. Clarkson's research on resistance exercise during breast cancer treatment is featured in Medical Hypothesis, a journal of theoretical papers in the biomedical sciences. Read the abstract.

Rhabdomyolysis

Rhabdomyolysis is a serious, potentially life-threatening condition that can develop unexpectedly under supervised conditions. Dr. Clarkson's 2009 paper in The Journal of Strength and Conditioning Research examines a case of rhabdomyolysis in a healthy, fit 18-year-old placekicker following a supervised practice session led by the team's strength and conditioning coach. Following eight days of hospitalization with intravenous fluids, the patient recovered without complications. View the full abstract.