Skip Navigation
UMass Amherst

Deparment of Languages and Literatures


About the Department of Languages, Literatures and Cultures

Mission Statement

This department has a three-fold mission: (1) to encourage and facilitate the study of languages, literatures and cultures of the world, the nation and the Commonwealth; (2) to represent international perspectives on academic endeavors and to contribute to the international presence at the University of Massachusetts Amherst; and (3) to promote the integrity of our component academic fields and to support the vitality of each of the programs housed in the department. Exploiting the synergistic potential inherent in combining both national and transnational approaches in a single entity, the department advocates an inclusive and interdisciplinary scholarship that develops new models, both theoretical and pragmatic, for the study of languages, literatures and cultures.


William Moebius, Department Chair, Professor of Comparative Literature
Michael Papio, Associate Chair, Professor of Italian

Executive Committee, 2014-15

This committee is responsible for long-range planning in the department. The 2014-15 Executive Committee's members are:

Patrick Mensah (French and Italian), Chair
Stephen Miller (Asian Languages and Literatures)
David Schneider(Asian Languages and Literatures)
Amanda Seaman(Comparative Literature)
Maria Tymoczko (Comparative Literature)
Roberto Ludivoco (French and Italian)
Frank Hugus (German and Scandinavian Studies)
Sherill Harbinson (German and Scandinavian Studies)
Barbara Zecchi (Spanish and Portuguese)
Albert Lloret (Spanish and Portuguese)
Robert Rothstein (Slavic and East European Studies)

Department Personnel Committee, 2014-15

The PC oversees actions related to LLC's faculty, including promotion and tenure. The current members are:

Stephen Miller (Asian Languages and Literatures), Co-Chair
Frank Hugus (German and Scandinavian Studies), Co-Chair
Zhijun Wang (Asian Languages and Literatures)
Amanda Seaman (Comparative Literature)
Maria Tymoczko (Comparative Literature)
Patrick Mensah (French and Italian)
Arturo Figliola (French and Italian)
Robert Sullivan (German and Scandinavian Studies)
Frank Fagundes (Spanish and Portuguese)
Albert Lloret (Spanish and Portuguese)