UMass Amherst


Events

Order By:    Date | Series

Spring 2013 Conferences and Workshops

Friday, April 26, 2013
ICESL Spring Workshop
Tobin Hall 423, 3:30 - 6:30

Wednesday, April 10, 2013
Defining phonological interactions with string set intersection - day 2 of 3
Eric Bakovic (University of California, San Diego)
528 Goodell - 3:30 - 5:00 pm
[+]more
Monday, April 8, 2013
Defining phonological interactions with string set intersection - day 1 of 3
Eric Bakovic (University of California, San Diego)
528 Goodell, 3:30 - 5:00 pm
[+]more
Saturday, April 6, 2013
RUMMIT
Northeast Phonology Workshop
TBA
[+]more


Spring 2013 Department Events

Thursday, May 2, 2013
2nd Year Students Mini-Conference
Machmer E37, 9:30 - 12:00
[+]more


Spring 2013 Undergraduate Events

Monday, April 22, 2013
Internships & other opportunities at Google
Shiri Dori-Hacohen (Google)
Machmer E37, 5:30 - 7:30
[+]more


Spring 2013 Colloquia Series

Friday, April 19, 2013
A re-evaluation of 'disjoint' footing
Ryan Bennett (Yale)
Machmer E-37, 3:30
[+]more
Friday, April 12, 2013
Conflict resolution: proper inclusion v. overlap
Eric Bakovic (University of California, San Diego)
Machmer, E37 - 3:30 - 5:00 pm
[+]more
Friday, April 5, 2013
Genes, language, and the nature of scientific explanations: the case of Williams Syndrome
Julien Musolino (Rutgers)
Machmer E-37, 3:30
[+]more
Friday, March 29, 2013
Malagasy Phrasal Comparatives
Eric Potsdam (University of Florida)
Machmer E-37, 3:30
[+]more
Monday, March 4, 2013
Epistemic Indefinites: The Case of Spanish
Paula Menendez-Benito (University of Gottingen)
Machmer W-27, 4:00
[+]more
Friday, March 1, 2013
Polarity and Grammar
Vincent Homer (ENS Paris)
Machmer E37, 3:30
[+]more
Friday, February 22, 2013
Polarity particles
Floris Roelofsen (University of Amsterdam)
Machmer E-37, 3:30
[+]more
Tuesday, February 12, 2013
Presupposition Projection in Quantified Sentences and Cross-Dimensional Anaphora
Yasutada Sudo (ENS Paris)
Machmer W-26, 4:00 pm
[+]more
Thursday, February 7, 2013
Two Effects of Context on Truth-conditional Meaning
Ezra Keshet (University of Michigan)
Machmer W-27, 4:00
[+]more


Spring 2013 Lectures

Friday, May 3, 2013
(Resumptive) Pronouns and Competition
Ivy Sichel (Hebrew University of Jerusalem)
South College 301, 3:30 - 5:00 pm
[+]more
Friday, April 26, 2013
Causation of Experience in Icelandic
Anton Karl Ingason (University of Pennsylvania)
Dickinson 206, 2:00 - 3:00 p.m.
[+]more
Thursday, April 25, 2013
Using Annotated Corpora for Syntactic Research
Anton Karl Ingason (University of Pennsylvania)
Bartlett 312, 2:30 - 4:00 pm
[+]more
Thursday, April 18, 2013
Phi-Features: the Presuppositional Approach
Dickinson 206, 4:00 pm
[+]more
Thursday, March 28, 2013
Clausal domains and clitic placement generalizations in Romance
Christina Tortora (CUNY (College of Staten Island and The Graduate Center))
Dickinson 206, 4:00 pm
[+]more
Tuesday, March 5, 2013
On Choosing Randomly
Paula Menendez-Benito (University of Gottingen)
Machmer W-26, 4:00
[+]more
Thursday, February 28, 2013
Escape!
Vincent Homer (ENS Paris)
Machmer W-27, 4:00
[+]more
Thursday, February 21, 2013
An inquisitive perspective on meaning: the case of disjunction
Floris Roelofsen (University of Amsterdam)
Machmer W-27, 4:00
[+]more
Friday, February 15, 2013
Deriving the Diversity of Contrastive Topic Realizations
Noah Constant (UMass)
301 South College (Partee Room) - 9 a.m.
[+]more
Monday, February 11, 2013
The Problem of Non-entailed Presupposition: Toward a Multi-Dimensional Theory of Presupposition
Yasutada Sudo (ENS Paris)
Machmer E-37, 4:00
[+]more
Friday, February 8, 2013
Answering Questions about Coherence and Anaphora
Ezra Keshet (University of Michigan)
Machmer E-37, 3:30
[+]more