Jane Collier, chair of the Student Prize Committee, presented the awards at the Association Luncheon in St. Louis to the winners of this year's graduate student and undergraduate paper competition. Both winners were in attendance. The award for the best undergraduate paper was presented to Clifford Jay Rosky (Amherst College) for his paper entitled, AA View to a Kill: Democracy, Television, and Capital Punishment,@ nominated by Austin Sarat. The award for the best graduate student paper was presented to David Johnson (University of California, Berkeley) for his paper entitled AThe Organization of Prosecution and the Possibility of Order,@ nominated by Malcom Feeley. Each prize consists of a certificate, $100 cash, and up to $400 reimbursement of expenses to attend the Annual Meeting. Student paper prizes are awarded annually.

Return to Newsletter Contents
Return to Home Page