Internship Links

This is a partial listing of sites where Journalism majors have interned. This is intended to be a resource for potential internship sites as well as a guide to the wide variety of possibilities.

Click here to read more about how to get an internship.


ABC Television ( New York ) http://abc.go.com/

American Museum of Natural History http://www.amnh.org/

Amherst Community Television ( Amherst , MA ) http://www.actvamherst.com/

Appalachian Mountain Club ( Boston , MA ) http://www.amcboston.org/

Atlantic Monthly, The http://www.theatlantic.com  

Barnhart, Ben (photography) http://www.bbimages.com

Beacon Press ( Boston , MA ) http://www.beacon.org

Bloomberg News ( New York ) www.bloomberg.com

Boston Celtics http://www.nba.com/celtics/

Boston Globe - co-op positions http://www.bostonglobe.com/coops

Boston Phoenix http://www.thephoenix.com/

Bourne Braves Baseball Club (Bourne, MA) http://www.bournebraves.org/

Child Magazine ( New York ) http://www.child.com/

Columbia Records ( New York ) http://www.columbiarecords.com/

Community Newspaper Company ( Needham , MA ) http://www.cnc.com/

Congressman Richard Neal ( Springfield , MA ) http://www.house.gov/neal/

CNN – Lou Dobbs ( Washington , DC ) http://www.cnn.com/CNN/Programs/lou.dobbs.tonight/

CubReporters.org is a new website aimed at young, college and early-career journalists. It offers job leads, internship listings, fellowship opportunities and more.

CosmoGIRL! ( New York City ) www.cosmogirl.com

Daily Hampshire Gazette ( Northampton , MA ) http://www.gazettenet.com/, Stan Moulton

Daily Item, The ( Lynn , MA ) http://www.thedailyitemoflynn.com/news.bg

Detroit Free Press (Detroit , MI )

Dow Jones Newspaper Fund

FamilyFun Magazine ( Northampton , MA ) http://familyfun.go.com/

Fitness Magazine ( New York ) http://www.fitnessmagazine.com/

Food Bank of Western Mass (Hatfield, MA) http://www.foodbankwma.org/

FOX 5 TV – WYNW ( New York ) http://www.myfoxny.com/myfox/

FOX News Channel ( New York ) http://www.foxnews.com/

Franciscan Children’s Hospital & Rehab. Center ( Brighton , MA) http://www.franciscanhospital.org/

GoNomad.com (So. Deerfield , MA ) www.gonomad.com

Good Morning America-ABC News (NY) http://abcnews.go.com/gma

Great River Shakespeare Festival ( Winona , MN ) http://www.grsf.org/main/

Green Idea (Pioneer Valley, MA) Contact: greeideablog@gmail.com

Hartford Courant (Hartford, CT) http://www.courant.com/

Herald News, (Fall River , MA )

Kaiser Media Internships in Health Reporting

KC 101.3 ( Hamden , CT ) http://www.kc101.com/main.html

KISS 108 (Boston, MA) http://www.kiss108.com/main.html

Lakewood BlueClaws Baseball ( Lakewood , NJ ) www.lakewoodblueclaws.com

Lawrence Eagle Tribune (Lawrence, MA) http://www.eagletribune.com/

Malden Observer ( Malden , MA ) http://www.townonline.com/malden/

Massachusetts Governor's Office (Boston & Springfield, MA) Internship Coordinator:Christina Mills

Market Street Research ( Northampton , MA ) http://www.marketstreetresearch.com/

Maxim ( New York ) www.maximonline.com/

Media Education Foundation ( Northampton , MA ) http://www.mediaed.org/

Media Girafffe Project (Amherst, MA) http://www.mediagiraffe.org/interns/

Memorial Press Group Newspapers ( Plymouth , MA ) http://www.southofboston.net/jobs/

Mentor Network, The ( Hatfield , MA ) http://www.thementornetwork.com/

Milford Daily News ( Milford , MA ) http://www.milforddailynews.com/

Montague Reporter ( Montague , MA ) http://www.montaguema.net/

MSNBC ( Secaucus , NJ ) http://www.msnbc.msn.com/

MTV Networks ( New York ) http://www.mtv.com/

MY9 TV News (NJ,NY) Contact: Megan Vega ('98)

National Geographic Societ (Washington, D.C.) http://www.nationalgeographic.com/

National Pork Producers Council (Washington, D.C.) http://www.nppc.org

National Yiddish Book Center ( Amherst , MA ) http://www.yiddishbookcenter.org/

NBC ( New York ) http://www.nbc.com/

New England Cable News ( Newton , MA ) http://www.necnews.com/

New England Patriots ( Foxboro , MA ) http://www.patriots.com/

New England Professional Golf Association ( Boylston , MA ) www.mgalinks.org

New England Revolution (Foxboro, MA) http://www.revolutionsoccer.net/

Niche Media ( New York ) http://www.nichemediallc.com/

Nonotuck Resource Assoc. Inc. ( Northampton , MA ) http://www.nonotuck.com/index.html

Pace Communications (Greensboro, NC) Contact: Lisa Watts

Peabody Essex Museum (Peabody, MA)

Performer Magazine (Somerville, MA) http://www.performermag.com

Pete Nelson ( Northampton , MA ) http://www.nelsonministryservices.com/

The Phoenix ( Boston , MA ) www.thephoenix.com

Project Vote Smart http://www.votesmart.org

Ralph Lauren Childrenswear ( New York ) http://www.polo.com/

Reader to Reader, Inc. ( Amherst , MA ) www.readertoreader.org

Relix Magazine (NY) Contact: Lauren Modisette

Representative James P. McGovern ( Washington , DC ) http://www.house.gov/mcgovern/

Representative Michael F. Rush (Boston, MA) Massachusetts State Representative

Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press (Arlington, VA) Email Corinna Zarek at internships@rcfp.org.

Republican-American, The ( Waterbury , CT )

Silicon Alley Insider (New York), http://www.alleyinsider.com

Southbridge News http://www.southbridgeeveningnews.com/

Springfield Spirit, The http://www.spiritofspringfield.org/

Stateline.org, (Washington, D.C. )

Sun Chronicle (Attleboro, MA) http://www.thesunchronicle.com

Tapestry Health Systems ( Northampton , MA ) http://tapestryhealth.org/index.php

Target http://www.target.com/

Teen Voices (Boston, MA) http://www.teenvoices.com/

Times Herald-Record, The ( Middletown , NY ) http://www.recordonline.com/

Triple Threat Television ( New York , NY ) www.triplethreattv.com

Republican, The (formerly Union News & Sunday Republican-Springfield , MA) http://www.repub.com/

UMass Student Legal Services Office http://www.umass.edu/rso/slso/

UMass Magazine http://www.umassmag.com/

UMass Media Giraffe Project http://www.mediagiraffe.org/

UMass Office of Advancement

UMass Press http://www.umass.edu/umpress

US Weekly Magazine ( New York ) http://www.usmagazine.com/

Valley Advocate ( Easthampton , MA ) http://www.ctnow.com/custom/nmm/valleyadvocate/

W.R. Grace ( Cambridge , MA ) http://www.grace.com/

Walt Disney World ( Orlando , FL ) http://disneyworld.disney.go.com/

Washington Center for Internships, The ( Washington , DC ) http://www.twc.edu/

WBZ ( Boston , MA ) http://www.wbz.com/

WCCC-FM 106.9 ( Hartford , CT ) http://www.wccc.com/

WCVB-TV 5 ( Needham , MA ) http://www.thebostonchannel.com/index.html

WEEI Sports Radio (Brighton, MA) http://www.weei.com

WFCR/88.5 FM Public Radio (Amherst , MA) http://www.wfcr.org/

WFXT-TV FOX 25 (Dedham, MA) http://www.myfoxboston.com/myfox/

WGBH-TV (Boston, MA) http://careers.wgbh.org/internships/internships.html

WGGB-TV CH 40 (Springfield, MA) http://www.wggb.com/

WHDH-TV (Boston , MA ) http://www1.whdh.com/

WHYN-FM/AM ( Springfield , MA ) www.whyn.com/main

White Rhino Productions ( Burlington , VT ) http://www.whiterhino.com/

William Clark Literary Agency ( New York ) http://www.wmclark.com/

WLZX FM Radio – Lazer 99.3 ( Northampton , MA ) http://www.lazer993.com/

Worcester Magazine http://www.worcestermag.com/

Worcester Telegram & Gazette http://telegram.com/

WRSI FM 95.3 The River ( Northampton , MA ) http://www.wrsi.com/

WHMP AM 1240/1400/1600 ( Northampton , MA ) http://www.whmp.com/

WTOP Radio (Washington, D.C.) http://www.wtop.com/

WWLP Channel 22 ( Springfield , MA ) http://www.wwlp.com/

Yankee Magazine ( Dublin , NH ) http://www.yankeemagazine.com/

Journalism Department
108 Bartlett Hall
University of Massachusetts
Amherst, MA 01003

Phone: 413.545.1376