Search Google Appliance

Information Technology

Add & Remove Blocks in Moodle

The columns on each side of a Moodle page contain Blocks. The Navigation and Administration blocks are required, but others are optional. New Moodle courses start out with a set of default blocks. You can add additional blocks, remove blocks, or rearrange the blocks in the sidebars.
 

block-sections-block(Click to enlarge)

How Blocks Work

  • Most blocks update themselves automatically with information about the course.
    For example, blocks such as Calendar and Upcoming events update themselves as date-based activities are added to the course.
  • Which blocks are displayed depends on your location in Moodle.
    Not all blocks displayed on your course homepage are displayed when viewing an assignment or forum page.
  • Which blocks you see can also depend on your Role in the course.
    For example, Teachers may see blocks (such as Quickmail) that Students don't see.
  • The links in the Administration block change according to the page you are on.
    For instance, when you are on the main course page the links in the Administration block pertain to the entire course, and when you are on the Update page for an Activity, the links in the Administration block change to show options for that activity type.

Add a Block

  1. Click Turn editing on (top-right). When editing is on, the Add a block block appears at the bottom of the right column.
  2. In the Add a block block, click Add... and select a block to add from the drop-down menu.  
    Select a block from the 'Add a block' drop-down
    Note:  There can only be one instance of most blocks in a course.  Depending on which blocks are already used in your course, the drop-down list will change to show only available blocks.
  3. Once you have selected the type of block to add, the page will re-load and your new block will be added at the bottom of the right column.

Move a Block

To rearrange the order in which your blocks are arranged in the sidebars.
Note: By default our themes have three columns, but if you want a wider area for course content, you can move all the blocks to one side (recommended only for courses that use very few blocks).  We do not recommend rearranging the Navigation or Administration blocks as they are used across courses and people expect them to be in their standard locations.

  1. Click Turn editing on.
  2. Click the Move icon (Move Icon Moodle) at the top right of the block. Drag the block to its desired location in the left or right column in your course. A shadow of the block will appear to show its resulting location if you drop it.

Minimize or Dock a Block

Individual users can minimize or "dock"  blocks  using the Hide (Minus Icon Moodle 2.8 SS) icon and the Dock (DOck icon Moodle 2.8 SS) icon.
Note:  This is a personal setting and does not affect your students' view of your course. 

screenshot showing where to click to dock, reveal and undock blocks (Click to enlarge) 

To minimize or maximize a block: 

  1. Click the Hide (Minus Icon Moodle 2.8 SS) icon on the block that you want to minimize.
  2. Click the Show (Show Icon Moodle 2.8 SS) icon to maximize the selected block.

To dock block on the left side of the window page: 

  1. Click the Dock (DOck icon Moodle 2.8 SS) icon on a block. The block disappears from its sidebar and a tab labeled with the name of the block appears on the left-hand side of the page.

To un-dock blocks from the left side of the window page: 

  1. Hover over the docked tab on the left side of the page. The block will temporarily open.
  2. Click the Undock (Undock icon Moodle 2.8 SS) icon at the top right of the block to make the selected block return to its original position.

Remove a Block

  1. Click Turn editing on.
  2. Find the block you wish to remove and click the Edit settings icon (Edit settings icon Moodle) and from the drop-down menu, select  Delete (X). A confirmation page will open asking, "Are you sure you want to remove this block titled..."
  3. On the Confirmation Page, click Yes. The page will refresh and the block will be removed from the course.

Note: You can re-add a removed block, however you may need to reconfigure any settings made. See Add a block (above). To preserve all settings you an hide the block instead (see below).

Hide/Show a Block from Students

To hide a block from student view without removing it from your course:

  1. Click Turn editing on.
  2. On the block you wish to hide from students, click the Actions (Edit settings icon Moodle) icon and from the drop-down menu, select Eye icon Hide [name of block]. The course page will refresh with the block minimized and greyed-out to indicate it is not visible to students.
  3. To make a hiddden block visible to students, repeat the above procedure and  from the Actions (Edit settings icon Moodle) menu, select Eye crossed-out icon Show [name of block]