History of the UMass Innovation Challenge

The Innovation Challenge is an interdisciplinary event that is overseen by faculty members who hold Isenberg Professorships at UMass Amherst. The competition is one among many initiatives in a campus-wide strategy to develop technological innovation and to bring that intellectual property to the private sector.

Established in 2005, the competition is the result of the early work by Michael F. Malone, who is currently the Vice Chancellor of Research and Engagement and the Ronnie and Eugene Isenberg Distinguished Professor of Engineering; and the late Soren Bisgaard, who held the Eugene M. Isenberg Professorship of Technology Management in the Isenberg School of Management from 2002-2009.

With the 2014 creation of the Berthiaume Center for Entrepreneurship, the Innovation Challenge is now part of Berthiaume which embodies the University of Massachusetts Amherst's entrepreneurial ecosystem.