The University of Massachusetts Amherst
HFA - College of Humanities & Fine Arts view HFA submenu
Academics

Public History Students

Though most students in the Public History Program are students pursuing an MA or PhD in History, students in any graduate program on campus can pursue the graduate certificate in Public History, making for a rich interdisciplinary environment.  The paragraphs below include information on students who are currently working toward the Certificate in Public History as well as PhD Affiliates who have completed their MA but remain part of our Public History community writ large, having chosen to stay at UMass to pursue a PhD.

This page is intended to give a sense of the range and focus of work and career objectives among students in the Public History program. You may write to current students via email or care of the Department of History, Herter Hall, University of Massachusetts,161 Presidents Drive, Amherst, MA 01003.

Curious about what kind of careers you can have with training from UMass public history? Check out our public history alumni profiles.


Certificate Students | PhD Affiliates


Certificate Students

The students listed below are MA and PhD students from the Department of History and departments across the UMass campus who are currently pursuing the Graduate Certificate in Public History.

Photo of Jacob Boucher with microphone

Michelle Barrasso
M.A. Student, Department of History
mbarrasso@umass.edu
Bio

Portrait of Ross Caputi

Ross Caputi
Ph.D. Student, Department of History
rcaputi@umass.edu
Bio

Will has pale skin, close cropped dark hair, and glasses.

Will Conard-Malley
Public History
wconardmalle@umass.edu
Bio

 

Maya Cunningham
Ph.D. candidate, W.E.B. Du Bois Department of Afro-American Studies
mccunningham@umass.edu
Bio

Tianna has fair skin and shoulder-length red hair. She is wearing a black blazer and is against a white background.

Tianna Darling
M.A. Student, Department of History
tiannadarlin@umass.edu
Bio

Nick has pale skin and close cropped dark hair. He is wearing a button down shirt and is in front of a white background. Nick DeLuca
M.A. Student, Department of History
ndeluca@umass.edu
Bio
Marguerite DiGiorgio
M.A. Student, Department of History
mdigiorgio@umass.edu
Bio
Headshot of Olivia Ekeh Olivia Ekeh
Ph.D. Candidate, W.E.B. Du Bois Department of Afro-American Studies
oekeh@umass.edu
Bio
  Tirzah Frank
Public History
tfrank@umass.edu
Bio
Headshot of Yuri Gama Yuri Gama
Ph.D. Candidate, Department of History
ygama@history.umass.edu
Bio
Alexa is a pale woman with dark brown hair wearing a black top. Alexa Harrington
M.A. Student, Department of History
amwallace@umass.edu
Bio

Jason Higgins
Ph.D. Candidate, Department of History
jahiggins@history.umass.edu
Bio
Headshot of Kiara Hill

Kiara Hill
Ph.D. Candidate, W.E.B. Du Bois Department of Afro-American Studies
kiarahill@umass.edu
Bio

 

Susan Kaplan
M.A. Student, Department of History
susankaplan@umass.edu
Bio

Devon is has pale skin and close cropped dark blond hair. He is wearing a blue shirt in front of a white background.

Devon T. King
M.A. Student, Department of History
dtking@umass.edu
Bio

Photo of Peter Kleeman Peter Kleeman
M.A. Student, Department of History
pkleeman@umass.edu
Bio

Helen Kyriakoudes
M.A. Student, Department of History
hkyriakoudes@umass.edu
Bio

  Emma Lewis
Public History, Digital History
eklewis@umass.edu
Bio
Photo of Tanya Pearson sitting on steps

Tanya Pearson
Ph.D. Student, Department of History
tpearson@umass.edu
Bio

 

Portrait of Danielle Raad

Danielle Raad
Ph.D. Candidate, Department of Anthropology
draad@umass.edu
Bio

Lauren Robinson
M.A. Student, Department of History
robinson@umass.edu
Bio

Headshot of Camesha Scruggs

Camesha Scruggs
Ph.D. Candidate, Department of History
cscruggs@history.umass.edu
Bio

A close up of Yelana's face, and she's wearing a blue shirt with a white scarf. Her hair is pulled back from her face. Yelana Sims
Ph.D. Candidate, W.E.B. Du Bois Department of Afro-American Studies
ysims@umass.edu
Bio

Erika Slocumb
Ph.D. Candidate, W.E.B. Du Bois Department of Afro-American Studies
eslocumb@umass.edu
Bio

Photo of Alison Smith, who has pale skin and straight brown hair. She's wearing glasses and a white top. Allison Smith
M.A. Student, History Department
allsmith@umass.edu
Bio
  Catherine White
M.A. Student, History Department
cwwhite@umass.edu
Bio
Emily has shoulder-length hair and is wearing a black top. She's in front of a grey background. Emily Whitted
Early American material culture, history of women, history of fiber and foodways, history of textiles
ewhitted@umass.edu
Bio

 


PhD Affiliates

On occasion, students who come to UMass to complete an MA in History with the Graduate Certificate in Public History elect to remain at UMass for the PhD. Students also come to UMass for their PhD after having studied public history elsewhere.  Some of these students commit one of their three doctoral fields to Public History, and/or pursue dissertations that relate to the history of public history practice; others keep a hand in by participating in projects or contract work, and still others simply remain a resource in public history to their fellow students. Some of these PhD students are completing traditional dissertations while launching careers as public historians. Whatever direction their work takes after completing their certificates, we enjoy ongoing relationships with these students, and consider them part of our larger community of public historians on the UMass campus.

Headshot of Marwa Amer Marwa Amer
Ph.D. Candidate, Department of History
mamer@history.umass.edu
Bio
Portrait of Brittany Frederick

Brittany Frederick
Ph.D. Candidate, Department of History
bfrederick@history.umass.edu
Bio

Photo of Andrew Grim looking resolute

Andrew Grim
Ph.D. Candidate, Department of History
agrim@history.umass.edu
Bio

Headshot of Cheryl Harned

Cheryl Harned
Ph.D. Candidate, Department of History
charned@history.umass.edu
Bio

Photo of Alison Russell, who has pale skin and straight brown hair and is wearing a plaid top. Alison Russell
Ph.D. Student, Department of History

abrussell@umass.edu
Bio
Portrait of Chuck Weisenberger

Charles Weisenberger
Ph.D. Candidate, Department of History
cweisenberge@history.umass.edu
Bio

Brian Whetstone
Ph.D. Candidate, Department of History
bwhetstone@umass.edu
Bio