Links
Academics

Public History Students

Though most students in the Public History Program are students pursuing an MA or PhD in History, students in any graduate program on campus can pursue the graduate certificate in Public History, making for a rich interdisciplinary environment.  The paragraphs below include information on students who are currently working toward the Certificate in Public History as well as PhD Affiliates who have completed their MA but remain part of our Public History community writ large, having chosen to stay at UMass to pursue a PhD.

This page is intended to give a sense of the range and focus of work and career objectives among students in the Public History program. You may write to current students via email or care of the Department of History, Herter Hall, University of Massachusetts,161 Presidents Drive, Amherst, MA 01003.

Curious about what kind of careers you can have with training from UMass public history? Check out our public history alumni profiles.


Certificate Students | PhD Affiliates


Certificate Students

The students listed below are MA and PhD students from the Department of History and departments across the UMass campus who are currently pursuing the Graduate Certificate in Public History.

Portrait of Alex Asal

Alex Asal
M.A. Candidate, Department of History
aasal@history.umass.edu
Bio

 

Portrait of Evan Howard Ashford

Evan Howard Ashford
Ph.D. Candidate, W.E.B. Du Bois Department of Afro-American Studies
eashford@afroam.umass.edu
Bio

Headshot of Domique Batiste Dominique Pierre Batiste
M.A. Candidate, Department of History
dbatiste@umass.edu
Bio
Photo of Jacob Boucher with microphone

Jacob Boucher
M.A. Candidate, Department of History
jmboucher@umass.edu
Bio

Headshot of Peter Blackmer Peter Blackmer
Ph.D. Candidate, W.E.B. Du Bois Department of Afro-American Studies
pblackme@afroam.umass.edu
Bio 
Headshot of Austin Clark in front of a gravestone Austin Clark
M.A. Candidate, Department of History
awclark@history.umass.edu
Bio
Photo of Nolan Cool in a library holding a book
Nolan Cool
M.A. Candidate, Department of History
ncool@history.umass.edu
 
 
 

 

Headshot of Olivia Ekeh Olivia Ekeh
Ph.D. Candidate, W.E.B. Du Bois Department of Afro-American Studies
oekeh@umass.edu
Bio
Headshot of Yuri Gama Yuri Gama
Ph.D. Student, Department of History
ygama@history.umass.edu
Bio
Portrait of Jason Higgins Jason Higgins
Ph.D. Student, Department of History
jahiggins@history.umass.edu
Bio
Headshot of Kiara Hill

Kiara Hill
Ph.D. Candidate, W.E.B. Du Bois Department of Afro-American Studies
kiarahill@umass.edu
Bio

Headshot of Pilar Osorio Lora Pilar Osorio Lora
Ph.D. Candidate, Department of Languages, Literatures and Cultures
piliosorio1@gmail.com
Bio
Headshot of Perri Meldon Perri Meldon
M.A. Candidate, Department of History
pmeldon@umass.edu
Bio
Photo of Tanya Pearson sitting on steps Tanya Pearson
Ph.D. Student
tpearson@umass.edu
Bio
Headshot of Camesha Scruggs Camesha Scruggs
Ph.D. Student, Department of History
cscruggs@history.umass.edu
Bio
Headshot of Kendall Taivalkoski Kendall Taivalkoski
M.A. Candidate, Department of History
ktaivalkoski@umass.edu
Bio
Headshot of Emma Winter Zeig Emma Winter Zeig
M.A. Candidate, Department of History
ewinterzeig@umass.edu
Bio
Headshot of Amelia Zurcher

Amelia Zurcher
M.A. Candidate, Department of History
azurcher@umass.edu
Bio

 


PhD Affiliates

On occasion, students who come to UMass to complete an MA in History with the Graduate Certificate in Public History elect to remain at UMass for the PhD. Students also come to UMass for their PhD after having studied public history elsewhere.  Some of these students commit one of their three doctoral fields to Public History, and/or pursue dissertations that relate to the history of public history practice; others keep a hand in by participating in projects or contract work, and still others simply remain a resource in public history to their fellow students. Some of these PhD students are completing traditional dissertations while launching careers as public historians. Whatever direction their work takes after completing their certificates, we enjoy ongoing relationships with these students, and consider them part of our larger community of public historians on the UMass campus.

Headshot of Marwa Amer Marwa Amer
Ph.D. Student, Department of History
mamer@history.umass.edu
Bio
Headshot of Erica Fagen Erica Fagen
Ph.D. Candidate, Department of History
efagen@history.umass.edu
Bio
Portrait of Brittany Frederick

Brittany Frederick
Ph.D. Student, Department of History
bfrederick@history.umass.edu
Bio

Portrait of Kate Freedman Kate Freedman
Ph.D. Candidate, Department of History
kfreedma@library.umass.edu
Bio
Photo of Andrew Grim looking resolute

Andrew Grim
Ph.D. Candidate, Department of History
agrim@history.umass.edu
Bio

Headshot of Cheryl Harned

 

Cheryl Harned
Ph.D. Candidate, Department of History
charned@history.umass.edu
Bio

 

Headshot of Amanda Goodheart Parks Amanda Goodheart Parks
Ph.D. Candidate, Department of History
amanda.goodheart@gmail.com
Bio
Photo of Mark Roblee reading from papers in front of a microphone Mark Roblee
Ph.D. Candidate, Department of History
mroblee@history.umass.edu
Bio
Portrait of Chuck Weisenberger

Charles Weisenberger
Ph.D. Candidate, Department of History
cweisenberge@history.umass.edu
Bio