Links
Academics

Public History Students

Though most students in the Public History Program are students pursuing an MA or PhD in History, students in any graduate program on campus can pursue the graduate certificate in Public History, making for a rich interdisciplinary environment.  The paragraphs below include information on students who are currently working toward the Certificate in Public History as well as PhD Affiliates who have completed their MA but remain part of our Public History community writ large, having chosen to stay at UMass to pursue a PhD.

This page is intended to give a sense of the range and focus of work and career objectives among students in the Public History program. You may write to current students via email or care of the Department of History, Herter Hall, University of Massachusetts,161 Presidents Drive, Amherst, MA 01003.

Curious about what kind of careers you can have with training from UMass public history? Check out our public history alumni profiles.


Certificate Students | PhD Affiliates


Certificate Students

The students listed below are MA and PhD students from the Department of History and departments across the UMass campus who are currently pursuing the Graduate Certificate in Public History.

Alex Asal
M.A. Candidate, Department of History
aasal@history.umass.edu
Bio

 

Photo of Emma Ayres Emma Ayres
M.A. Candidate, Department of History
ejayres@umass.edu
Bio

Evan Howard Ashford
Ph.D. Candidate, W.E.B. Du Bois Department of Afro-American Studies
eashford@afroam.umass.edu
Bio

Dominique Pierre Batiste
M.A. Candidate, Department of History
dbatiste@umass.edu
Bio
Photo of Jacob Boucher

Jacob Boucher
M.A. Candidate, Department of History
jmboucher@umass.edu
Bio

Peter Blackmer
Ph.D. Candidate, W.E.B. Du Bois Department of Afro-American Studies
pblackme@afroam.umass.edu
Bio 
Austin Clark
M.A. Candidate, Department of History
awclark@history.umass.edu
Bio
Nolan Cool
M.A. Candidate, Department of History
ncool@history.umass.edu
 
 

Crystal Donkor
Ph.D. Candidate, W.E.B. Du Bois Department of Afro-American Studies
cdonkor@afroam.umass.edu
Bio

Olivia Ekeh
Ph.D. Candidate, W.E.B. Du Bois Department of Afro-American Studies
oekeh@umass.edu
Bio
Yuri Gama
Ph.D. Student, Department of History
ygama@history.umass.edu
Bio
Jason Higgins
Ph.D. Student, Department of History
jahiggins@history.umass.edu
Bio
Picture of Kiara Hill

Kiara Hill
Ph.D. Candidate, W.E.B. Du Bois Department of Afro-American Studies
kiarahill@umass.edu
Bio

Pilar Osorio Lora
Ph.D. Candidate, Department of Languages, Literatures and Cultures
piliosorio1@gmail.com
Bio
Photo of Perri Meldon Perri Meldon
M.A. Candidate, Department of History
pmeldon@umass.edu
Bio
Kelli Morgan
Ph.D. Candidate, W.E.B. Du Bois Department of Afro-American Studies
kmorg1@afroam.umass.edu
Bio
Tanya Pearson
Ph.D. Student
tpearson@umass.edu
Bio

Albert Rintrona
Ph.D. Candidate, Department of Communications
arintrona@umass.edu
Bio

Camesha Scruggs
Ph.D. Student, Department of History
cscruggs@history.umass.edu
Bio
Photo of Kendall Taivalkoski Kendall Taivalkoski
M.A. Candidate, Department of History
ktaivalkoski@umass.edu
Bio
Photo of Emma Winter Zeig Emma Winter Zeig
M.A. Candidate, Department of History
ewinterzeig@umass.edu
Bio
Photo of Amelia Zurcher

Amelia Zurcher
M.A. Candidate, Department of History
azurcher@umass.edu
Bio

 


PhD Affiliates

On occasion, students who come to UMass to complete an MA in History with the Graduate Certificate in Public History elect to remain at UMass for the PhD. Students also come to UMass for their PhD after having studied public history elsewhere.  Some of these students commit one of their three doctoral fields to Public History, and/or pursue dissertations that relate to the history of public history practice; others keep a hand in by participating in projects or contract work, and still others simply remain a resource in public history to their fellow students. Some of these PhD students are completing traditional dissertations while launching careers as public historians. Whatever direction their work takes after completing their certificates, we enjoy ongoing relationships with these students, and consider them part of our larger community of public historians on the UMass campus.

Marwa Amer
Ph.D. Student, Department of History
mamer@history.umass.edu
Bio
Erica Fagen
Ph.D. Candidate, Department of History
efagen@history.umass.edu
Bio

Brittany Frederick
Ph.D. Student, Department of History
bfrederick@history.umass.edu
Bio

Kate Freedman
Ph.D. Candidate, Department of History
kfreedma@library.umass.edu
Bio

Andrew Grim
Ph.D. Candidate, Department of History
agrim@history.umass.edu
Bio

 

Cheryl Harned
Ph.D. Candidate, Department of History
charned@history.umass.edu
Bio

 

Amanda Goodheart Parks
Ph.D. Candidate, Department of History
amanda.goodheart@gmail.com
Bio
Mark Roblee
Ph.D. Candidate, Department of History
mroblee@history.umass.edu
Bio
Charles Weisenberger
Ph.D. Candidate, Department of History