Links
HFA - College of Humanities & Fine Arts view HFA submenu
People

Ph.D. Students

This page is intended to give a sense of the range and focus of graduate student research in our department. Current dissertation titles for Ph.D. students are provisional. You may write to current students via email or care of the Department of History, Herter Hall, University of Massachusetts, 161 Presidents Drive, Amherst, MA 01003-9312.


Ph.D. | M.A. | Public History


Current Ph.D. Students

   
No picture Marwa Amer 
Modern United States
mamer@history.umass.edu
Portrait of Mohammad Ataie

Mohammad Ataie (ABD)
Modern Middle East, Iran and Arab Relations, Persian Relations with the Levant
mataei@history.umass.edu
Bio

Portrait of Amy Breimaier

Amy Breimaier (ABD)
Atlantic World, Book History, Public History
abreimai@history.umass.edu
Bio

Portrait of Heather Brinn

Heather Brinn
hbrinn@umass.edu

Bio

Portrait of Adeline Broussan Adeline Broussan (ABD)
Modern United States, Vietnam War
abroussan@history.umass.edu
Bio
Portrait of Justin Burch Justin Burch (ABD)
History of US International Relations, Cold War, American Empire
jeburch@history.umass.edu
Bio | Website | Twitter
Portrait of Joie Campbell Joie Campbell (ABD)
19th-20th century United States, History of Women and Gender, African American History
joielynncamp@umass.edu
Bio
Portrait of Ross Caputi Ross Caputi
American History, European History
rcaputi@umass.edu
Bio
No picture

Brian Comfort (ABD)
19th-20th century United States Cultural History
briancomfort@gmail.com
Bio

Portrait of James During James During
History of Memory, Vietnam War
jduring@umass.edu
Bio
No picture

Kyle Edelbrock
kedelbrock@umass.edu 
 

Portrait of Erica Fagen Erica Fagen (ABD)
 Modern Europe, Public History, Memory of Conflict and Mass Violence
efagen@history.umass.edu
Bio | Website | Twitter
Portrait of Jenna Febrizio Jenna Febrizio (ABD)
20th century Germany, Memory, Banned/Looted Artwork, Restitution
jfebrizio@umass.edu
Bio
Portrait of Christopher Fobare Christopher Fobare (ABD)
The Civil War & Reconstruction, The Early Republic, Modern China
cfobare@history.umass.edu
Bio
Portrait of Brittany Frederick

Brittany Frederick
bfrederick@umass.edu
Bio

Portrait of Kate Freedman Kate Freedman (ABD)
Early American History, Anglo-Atlantic History, American and European Women's History
kfreedma@library.umass.edu
Bio
Portrait of Yuri Gama

Yuri Gama
Latin America, Urban History, Public History
ygama@umass.edu
Bio

No picture

Natalie Geeza
History of Childhood and Youth, Modern U.S., and Modern Germany
ngeeza@umass.edu
Bio

Portrait of Andrew Grim Andrew Grim (ABD)
20th Century US, Urban History, Modern Europe, Public History
agrim@history.umass.edu
Bio
Portrait of Cheryl Harned

Cheryl Harned (ABD)
Colonial America, Modern United States, Cultural/Intellectual History, Early Modern History of Science 
charned@history.umass.edu
Bio

Portrait of  Carl Herzog Carl Herzog (ABD)
Early American History, Environmental History, Caribbean History
cherzog@history.umass.edu
Bio
Portrait of  Jason Higgins

Jason Higgins
Modern U.S. History, American War in Vietnam, and Oral History
jahiggins@umass.edu
Bio

 

Portrait of John Higgins

John Higgins (ABD)
Early Medieval Ireland, Byzantium, Literacy and Orality 
jmhig0@acad.umass.edu
Bio

No picture

Ragini Jha
South Asian History, Labor History, Urban History
 
raginijha@umass.edu
Bio

No picture Michael Jirik (ABD)
19th century United States, African American History, Latin America
mjirik@history.umass.edu
Bio
Portrait of Sarah Lavallee Sarah Lavallee (ABD)
Modern Germany, South Africa, Early Modern Europe
slavallee@history.umass.edu
Bio
No picture Destiney Linker (ABD)
20th century United States, African American History, Latin America
dllinker@history.umass.edu
Bio
Portrait of Jorge Minella Jorge Minella (ABD)
Modern Brazil, 20th century Brazil-United Sates relations, Latin America
jminella@umass.edu
Bio
Portrait of Shay Olmstead Shay Olmstead
Native American History, History of Women, Gender, and Sexuality, United States Frontier History
solmstead@umass.edu
Bio
Portrait of Amanda Goodheart Parks Amanda Goodheart Parks (ABD)
History of Women and Gender, 19th century United States, Public History, Global Environmental History
amanda.goodheart@gmail.com
Bio
Portrait of Tanya Pearson

Tanya Pearson
Oral history, archives, digital preservation, curation, music, rock history, 20th century U.S.
tpearson@umass.edu
Bio

Portrait of Anthony Repucci Anthony Repucci (ABD)
19th century United States, Civil War
arepucci@history.umass.edu
No picture John (J.D.) Roberts (ABD)
Modern Latin America, Global History, Colonial Latin America
jdrobert@history.umass.edu
Bio
Portrait of Ann Robinson Ann Robinson (ABD)
History of Science, 19th-20th century United States, Global History 
annr@history.umass.edu
Bio
Portrait of Mark Roblee Mark Roblee (ABD)
Late Antiquity, Ancient Religions, Memory and Identity
mroblee@history.umass.edu
Bio
Portrait of Karen Sause Karen Sause (ABD)
Native American History, Colonial America, Atlantic World
ksause@history.umass.edu
Bio
Portrait of Casey Scarpati Casey Scarpati
American Foreign Relations, the Vietnam War
cscarpati@umass.edu
Bio
Portrait of Camesha Scruggs Camesha Scruggs
20th century United States, African American History, Global Women's History
cscruggs@history.umass.edu
Bio
Portrait of Gina Talley Gina Talley (ABD)
History of Women and Gender in the United States, 20th century United States, Sex and Society in Modern Europe
gtalley@history.umass.edu
Bio
   
Portrait of Jen Turner Jen Turner (ABD)
Colonial America, Poverty Studies
jaturner@history.umass.edu
Bio
Portrait of Charles Weisenberger Charles Weisenberger (ABD)
African American History, Digital History, Global History
cweisenberge@history.umass.edu
Bio
Portrait of Miriam Wells Miriam Wells (ABD)
Public History, 19th-20th century United States
mewells@history.umass.edu
Bio | Website
Portrait of Bing Xia Bing Xia
20th century Chinese history
bingxia@umass.edu
Bio