Links
People

Ph.D. Students

This page is intended to give a sense of the range and focus of graduate student research in our department. Current dissertation titles for Ph.D. students are provisional. You may write to current students via email or care of the Department of History, Herter Hall, University of Massachusetts, 161 Presidents Drive, Amherst, MA 01003-9312.


Ph.D. | M.A. | Public History


Current Ph.D. Students

   
Marwa Amer 
Modern United States
mamer@history.umass.edu

Mohammad Ataie (ABD)
Modern Middle East, Iran and Arab Relations, Persian Relations with the Levant
mataei@history.umass.edu
Bio

Amy Breimaier (ABD)
Atlantic World, Book History, Public History
abreimai@history.umass.edu
Bio

Heather Brinn
hbrinn@umass.edu

Bio

Adeline Broussan (ABD)
Modern United States, Vietnam War
abroussan@history.umass.edu
Bio
Justin Burch (ABD)
History of US International Relations, Cold War, American Empire
jeburch@history.umass.edu
Bio | Website | Twitter
Joie Campbell (ABD)
19th-20th century United States, History of Women and Gender, African American History
joielynncamp@umass.edu
Bio
Ross Caputi
American History, European History
rcaputi@umass.edu
Bio

Brian Comfort (ABD)
19th-20th century United States Cultural History
briancomfort@gmail.com
Bio

James During
History of Memory, Vietnam War
jduring@umass.edu
Bio

Kyle Edelbrock
kedelbrock@umass.edu 
 

Erica Fagen (ABD)
 Modern Europe, Public History, Memory of Conflict and Mass Violence
efagen@history.umass.edu
Bio | Website | Twitter
Jenna Febrizio (ABD)
20th century Germany, Memory, Banned/Looted Artwork, Restitution
jfebrizio@umass.edu
Bio
Christopher Fobare (ABD)
The Civil War & Reconstruction, The Early Republic, Modern China
cfobare@history.umass.edu
Bio

Brittany Frederick
bfrederick@umass.edu
Bio

Kate Freedman (ABD)
Early American History, Anglo-Atlantic History, American and European Women's History
kfreedma@library.umass.edu
Bio

Yuri Gama
Latin America, Urban History, Public History
ygama@umass.edu
Bio

 

Natalie Geeza
History of Childhood and Youth, Modern U.S., and Modern Germany
ngeeza@umass.edu
Bio

Andrew Grim (ABD)
20th Century US, Urban History, Modern Europe, Public History
agrim@history.umass.edu
Bio

Cheryl Harned (ABD)
Colonial America, Modern United States, Cultural/Intellectual History, Early Modern History of Science 
charned@history.umass.edu
Bio

Carl Herzog (ABD)
Early American History, Environmental History, Caribbean History
cherzog@history.umass.edu
Bio

Jason Higgins
Modern U.S. History, American War in Vietnam, and Oral History
jahiggins@umass.edu
Bio

 

John Higgins (ABD)
Early Medieval Ireland, Byzantium, Literacy and Orality 
jmhig0@acad.umass.edu
Bio

Ragini Jha
South Asian History, Labor History, Urban History
 
raginijha@umass.edu
Bio

Michael Jirik (ABD)
19th century United States, African American History, Latin America
mjirik@history.umass.edu
Bio
Sarah Lavallee (ABD)
Modern Germany, South Africa, Early Modern Europe
slavallee@history.umass.edu
Bio
Destiney Linker (ABD)
20th century United States, African American History, Latin America
dllinker@history.umass.edu
Bio
Jorge Minella
Modern Brazil, 20th century Brazil-United Sates relations, Latin America
jminella@umass.edu
Bio
Shay Olmstead
Native American History, History of Women, Gender, and Sexuality, United States Frontier History
solmstead@umass.edu
Bio
Amanda Goodheart Parks (ABD)
History of Women and Gender, 19th century United States, Public History, Global Environmental History
amanda.goodheart@gmail.com
Bio

Tanya Pearson
Oral history, archives, digital preservation, curation, music, rock history, 20th century U.S.
tpearson@umass.edu
Bio

Anthony Repucci (ABD)
19th century United States, Civil War
arepucci@history.umass.edu
John (J.D.) Roberts (ABD)
Modern Latin America, Global History, Colonial Latin America
jdrobert@history.umass.edu
Bio
Ann Robinson (ABD)
History of Science, 19th-20th century United States, Global History 
annr@history.umass.edu
Bio
Mark Roblee (ABD)
Late Antiquity, Ancient Religions, Memory and Identity
mroblee@history.umass.edu
Bio
Karen Sause (ABD)
Native American History, Colonial America, Atlantic World
ksause@history.umass.edu
Bio
Casey Scarpati
American Foreign Relations, the Vietnam War
cscarpati@umass.edu
Bio
Camesha Scruggs
20th century United States, African American History, Global Women's History
cscruggs@history.umass.edu
Bio
Gina Talley (ABD)
History of Women and Gender in the United States, 20th century United States, Sex and Society in Modern Europe
gtalley@history.umass.edu
Bio
   
Jen Turner (ABD)
Colonial America, Poverty Studies
jaturner@history.umass.edu
Bio
Charles Weisenberger (ABD)
African American History, Digital History, Global History
cweisenberge@history.umass.edu
Bio
Miriam Wells (ABD)
Public History, 19th-20th century United States
mewells@history.umass.edu
Bio | Website
Bing Xia
20th century Chinese history
bingxia@umass.edu
Bio