The CHFA Research Council peer reviews and makes recommendations to the Dean for the funding of competitive research programs and on the selection of HFA nominees to internal grant/fellowship competitions. The Council is made up of six tenured faculty members in HFA that represent at least four different departments in the College, one of which must always be representative of the arts.  Council members are nominated by department chairs and invited by the Dean to serve a two-year term.


The Research Council oversees the programs and nominations listed below and may, at the Dean’s request, make recommendations on other research-related issues.  The Council is chaired by the Associate Dean for Research and Academic Personnel.  Each program listed below will be announced by the Associate Dean who will set deadlines and compile the applications for each program. 


Research Programs


  • Associate Professor Research Renewal Program (Summer project funds and Enhanced sabbatical funds)


  • Dean’s Fellowships (Recruitment and Dissertation/Thesis)


  • Senior Lecturer Professional Development Funds


  • Research Center Start-up Funds and Provisional Approval Requests


  • Proposal Preparation Grants



Nomination Selections


  • Conti Fellowships


  • NEH Summer Stipends


  • Other limited submission grant opportunities where competition is restricted to HFA


  • CHFA Outstanding Research Award


Back to Committees