Skip navigation
University of Massachusetts Amherst



Faculty Profile

Professor Louise Antony, talks about the importance of philosophy, her mentoring of women in philosophy and she offers advice to interested students. More...



Academic Freedom

The College's official policy on academic and artistic freedom and community response.


HFA Faculty Awards & Honors

8 Named Lilly Teaching Fellows

Congratulations to the HFA faculty who received the 2012-2013 Lilly Teaching Fellowships! Out of the 8 fellows, 3 are from the College of Humanities & Fine Arts: Assistant Professor of Afro-American Studies Britt Rusert, Assistant Professor of Music Felipe Salles and Assistant Professor of Women, Gender, Sexuality Studies Angela Willey. More...

Angelika Kratzer Selected As 2012-2013 Radcliffe Institute Fellow

Professor of Linguistics, Angelika Kratzer has been selected to be a Radcliffe Institute Fellow for 2012-2013. She is among only 5 percent of applicants who were accepted to pursue independent projects in the humanities, sciences, arts, and social sciences at the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study at Harvard University. More...

University Museum of Contemporary Art Awarded National Endowment for the Arts grant

The University Museum of Contemporary Art, housed in the Fine Arts Center, has been awarded an NEA grant of $100,000 in support of the exhibition Du Bois in Our Time, to take place in fall of 2013. This is the maxiumum amount awarded by the NEA to any one museum and the largest in the University Museum's history. Du Bois in Our Time will be the landmark exhibition project, focusing on an exploration of the intersection of art and the major causes and values promoted by W.E.B. Du Bois.

Assistant Professor of Dance awarded Distinguished Teaching Award

Assistant Professor Thomas Vacanti of the Dance department has been awarded the Distinguished Teaching Award from UMass Amherst for 2012. This highly competitive award recognizes his tremendous impact on students at the university and his contributions in teaching.

Congratulations to Steven Tracy!

Afro-American Studies Professor Steven Tracy has been approved as Fulbright Senior Specialist at the University of Konstanz, Germany! While in Konstanz for a six week stay from May-June 2012, Tracy will teach two classes on American and African American literature, lecture, and perform on vocals and harmonica with local musicians. More...

Professor of English Invited to Deliver Annual Harmsworth Lecture

Professor Sabina Murray of the Master of Fine Arts Program for Poets and Writers has been invited to deliver the annual Harmsworth Lecture in American Arts and Letters at the Rothermere American Institute at Oxford University on June 12. Murray, whose most recent book is a collection of short stories titled Tales of the New World, has been asked to address the historical and political influences on her fiction. She has also been awarded a National Endowment for the Arts Fellowship for Literature Arts. More...

David Fleming wins 2012 CCCC Outstanding Book Award

Professor David Fleming, English, has just won one of two 2012 Outstanding Book Awards awarded by the Conference on College Composition and Communication for his book, From Form to Meaning: Freshman Composition and the Long Sixties, 1957-1974. He will be presented with the award in March at the 2012 CCCC Convention in St. Louis. Congrats!

New Yorker Calls Peter Gizzi's Poetry "Ecstatic and Profound"

Professor Peter Gizzi of the English department was recently the subject of an admiring review in the New Yorker for his recently release book of poems, Threshold Songs. In it, the reviewer describes Gizzi as a "lunch-pail mystic, and once ecstatic and profound." and compares his poetry to that of Emily Dickinson, Whitman and Jack Spicer. More...

Tracy is named Chu Tian Scholar


Afro-American Studies professor Steven C. Tracy has been awarded the Chu Tian Scholar Fellowship Award ("The Sky of Chu Kingdom Award") by the Hubei Provincial Department of Education in China and officially named Lecture Professor of the Chu Tian Program. More...


Past Faculty Awards