Department Chairs

HFA's academic chairs lead a faculty of dedicated scholars, writers, and artists who uphold the College's belief in academic freedom, progressive thinking, and innovation.

Name Department Location Phone Email
John Bracey
Afro-American Studies New Africa House (413) 545-5160 jhbracey@afroam.umass.edu
William Oedel
Art, Architecture + Design, and Art History 365 Fine Arts Center (413) 545-6910 wtoedel@arthist.umass.edu
Elizabeth Keitel
Classics Herter Hall (413) 545-5777 eek@classics.umass.edu
Jenny Spencer
English 472 Bartlett Hall (413) 545-2575 jspencer@english.umass.edu
Joye Bowman
History Address Phone # jbowman@history.umass.edu
Jay R. Berkovitz
Judaic and Near Eastern Studies 740 Herter Hall (413) 545-5868 jrb@judnea.umass.edu
William Moebius
Languages, Literatures, & Cultures Address (413) 545-6716 bmoebius@complit.umass.edu
John Kingston
Linguistics 312 South College (413) 545-6833 jkingston@linguist.umass.edu
Jeff Cox
Music & Dance 273 Fine Arts Center (413) 545-6055 jcox@music.umass.edu
Joseph Levine
Philosophy 380 Bartlett Hall (413) 545-1846 jle@philos.umass.edu
Penny Remsen
Theater 111 Fine Arts Center (413) 545-0681 remsen@theater.umass.edu
Laura J. Briggs
Women, Gender, Sexuality Studies 208 Bartlett Hall (413) 545-1922 ljbriggs@wost.umass.edu