Skip Navigation
UMass Amherst Back to LLC Site

German & Scandinavian Studies, Deparment of Languages and Literatures

People
Faculty | Adjunct Faculty | Visiting Faculty | Graduate Students | Staff | Emeritus Faculty

 

Faculty

Name:
Title:
Office:
Phone: Email:
Barton Byg Professor and Founding Director of the DEFA Film Library Herter Hall 523 (413) 545-6671 byg@german.umass.edu
Susan Cocalis Professor
Herter Hall 525 (413) 545-6673 cocalis@german.umass.edu
Andrew Donson Associate Professor
Program Director
Herter Hall 505 (413) 545-6676 adonson@german.umass.edu
Ela Gezen Assistant Professor Herter Hall 517 (413) 545-6678 egezen@german.umass.edu
Sherrill Harbison Senior Lecturer
Scandinavian
Undergraduate Advisor
Herter Hall 523 (413) 545-6685 harbison@german.umass.edu
Frank Hugus Professor Herter Hall 506 (413) 545-1856 hugus@german.umass.edu
Kerstin Mueller Dembling Lecturer
Language Program Coordinator
Herter Hall 519 (413) 545-6670 muellerdembling@german.umass.edu
Jonathan Skolnik Associate Professor and Graduate Program Director Herter Hall 522 (413) 545-4245 jskolnik@german.umass.edu
Robert G. Sullivan Associate Professor Chief Undergraduate Advisor Herter Hall 509 (413) 545-6672 sullivan@german.umass.edu
Messages may also be left by calling our main office number:  (413) 545-2350.

 

Adjunct and/or Part-Time Faculty

Name:
Title:
Office:
Phone: Email:
Skyler Arndt-Briggs Adjunct Faculty and Executive Director of the DEFA Film Library Herter Hall 508 (413) 545-6674 sky@german.umass.edu
Caroline Degel Instructor of Swedish Herter Hall 510   cdegel@german.umass.edu
Eric Einhorn Adjunct Professor Emeritus and Professor Emeritus of Political Science Thompson Hall (413) 545-2438 einhorn@polsci.umass.edu
Stephen Harris Adjunct Professor and Associate Professor of English Bartlett Hall 259 (413) 545-6598 sharris@english.umass.edu
James Kelly Adjunct Faculty and Humanities Bibliographer W.E.B. Du Bois Library 1967 (413) 545-3981 jrkelly@library.umass.edu
Jon Berndt Olsen Adjunct Assistant Professor and Assistant Professor of History Herter Hall 609 (413) 545-6767 jon@history.umass.edu
Robert A. Rothstein Adjunct Professor and Walter Raleigh Amesbury, Jr. and Cecile Dudley Amesbury Professor of Polish Language, Literature, and Culture Herter Hall (413) 545-0894 rar@slavic.umass.edu
James Young Adjunct Professor and Professor of English and Judaic and Near Eastern Studies Herter Hall 744 (413) 545-5872 jeyoung@english.umass.edu

 

Visiting Faculty

Name:
Title:
Office:
Phone: Email:
None        

 

Graduate Students

Name:
Title:
Office:
Phone: Email:
Katrin Bahr Ph.D. Student Herter Hall 508 (413) 545-2351 kbahr@german.umass.edu
Katherine Devane Brown M.A. Student Herter Hall 508 (413) 545-2351 kdevane@german.umass.edu
Jason Doerre Ph.D. Candidate Not in residence   jdoerre@german.umass.edu
Maureen Gallagher Ph.D. Candidate Not in residence   mogallag@german.umass.edu
Melissa Gazo Ph.D. Candidate Not in residence   mgazo@german.umass.edu
Christopher Hench M.A. Student Herter Hall 508 (413) 545-2351 chench@german.umass.edu
M. Izadi Marshall Ph.D. Candidate Not in residence   mizma@german.umass.edu
Kevina King M.A. Student Herter Hall 508 (413) 545-2351 kevina@german.umass.edu
Victoria Rizo Lenshyn Ph.D. Candidate Not in residence   vlenshyn@german.umass.edu
Catherine McNally M.A. Student Herter Hall 508 (413) 545-2351 cmcnally@german.umass.edu
Michael Moynihan Ph.D. Student Not in residence   moynihan@german.umass.edu
Sally Olson M.A. Student Herter Hall 508 (413) 545-2351 ssolson@german.umass.edu
Claudia Plasse Ph.D. Student Herter Hall 508 (413) 545-2351 cplasse@acad.umass.edu
Erika Reichert M.A. Student Herter Hall 508 (413) 545-2351 ereicher@german.umass.edu
Rachael Salyer Ph.D. Candidate Herter Hall 508 (413) 545-6687 rsalyer@german.umass.edu
Anshu Sharma-Narayan Ph.D. Candidate Not in residence    
Jamele Watkins Ph.D. Student Herter Hall 508 (413) 545-2351 jamele@german.umass.edu
Delene Case White Ph.D. Candidate Herter Hall 508 (413) 545-6687 dmwhite@german.umass.edu

 

Staff

Name:
Title:
Office:
Phone: Email:
Dolkar Gyaltsen Program Office Manager Herter Hall 511 (413) 545-2350 gyaltsen@german.umass.edu

 

Emeritus Faculty

Name:
Title:
Email:
Sigrid Bauschinger Professor Emerita bauschin@german.umass.edu
James E. Cathey Professor Emeritus cathey@german.umass.edu
Henry A. Lea Professor Emeritus  
Sara Lennox Professor Emeritus lennox@german.umass.edu
Wilfried Malsch Professor Emeritus malsch@german.umass.edu
Klaus Peter Professor Emeritus  
Lawrence Ryan Professor Emeritus  
Harry Seelig Associate Professor Emeritus seelig@german.umass.edu
 

Faculty | Adjunct Faculty | Visiting Lecturers | Graduate Students | Staff | Emeritus Faculty