Skip Navigation
UMass Amherst Back to LLC Site

German & Scandinavian Studies, Deparment of Languages and Literatures

People
Faculty | Adjunct Faculty | Visiting Faculty | Graduate Students | Staff | Emeritus Faculty

 

Faculty

 Barton Byg
 Professor of German & Scandinavian Studies
 Founding Director of the DEFA Film Library

Office: Herter Hall 523
Telephone: (413) 545-6671
Email: byg@german.umass.edu


 Andrew Donson
 Program Director
 Associate Professor of German & Scandinavian Studies &History

Office: Herter Hall 505
Telephone: (413) 545-6676
Email: adonson@german.umass.edu


 Ela Gezen
 Assistant Professor of German & Scandinavian Studies

Office: Herter Hall 517
Telephone: (413) 545-6678
Email: egezen@german.umass.edu


 Sherrill Harbison
 Senior Lecturer in Scandinavian Studies

Office: Herter Hall 521
Telephone: (413) 545-6685
Email: harbison@german.umass.edu


 Frank Hugus
 Professor of German & Scandinavian Studies

Office: Herter Hall 506
Telephone: (413) 545-2350
Email: hugus@german.umass.edu


 Kerstin Mueller Dembling
 Lecturer
 Language Program Coordinator

Office: Herter Hall 519
Telephone: (413) 545-6670
Email: muellerdembling@german.umass.edu


 Jonathan Skolnik
 Graduate Program Director
 Associate Professor of German & Scandinavian Studies
 Adjunct Associate Professor of Judaic & Near Eastern Studies
 Adjunct Associate Professor of History

Office: Herter Hall 522
Telephone: (413) 545-4245
Email: jskolnik@german.umass.edu


 Robert G. Sullivan
 Associate Professor of German & Scandinavian Studies
 Chief Undergraduate Advisor
 Director, Medieval Studies Certificate Program
 Adjunct Associate Professor of Judaic and Near Eastern Studies

Office: Herter Hall 509
Telephone: (413) 545-6672 or (413) 545-2350
Email: sullivan@german.umass.edu


 

Adjunct and/or Part-Time Faculty

 Sky Arndt-Briggs
 Adjunct Faculty and Executive Director of the DEFA Film Library

Office: Herter Hall 508
Telephone: (413) 545-6674
Email: sky@german.umass.edu


 Eric Einhorn
 Adjunct Professor Emeritus
 Professor Emeritus of Political Science

Office: Thompson Hall
Telephone: (413) 545-2438
Email: einhorn@polsci.umass.edu


 Stephen Harris
 Adjunct Professor
 Associate Professor of English

Office: Bartlett Hall 259
Telephone: (413) 545-6598
Email: sharris@english.umass.edu


 James Kelly
 Adjunct Faculty in German & Scandinavian Studies
 Humanities Bibliographer

Office: W.E.B. Du Bois Library 1967
Telephone: (413) 545-3981
Email: jrkelly@library.umass.edu


 Jon Berndt Olson
 Adjunct Assistant Professor
 Assistant Professor of History

Office: Herter Hall 609
Telephone: (413) 545-6767
Email: jon@history.umass.edu


 Robert A. Rothstein
 Adjunct Professor
 Walter Raleigh Amesbury, Jr. and Cecile Dudley Amesbury Professor of Polish Language, Literature, and Culture

Office: Herter Hall
Telephone: (413) 545-0894
Email: rar@slavic.umass.edu


 James Young
 Adjunct Professor of German & Scandinavian Studies
 Professor of English and Judaic and Near Eastern Studies

Office: Herter Hall 744
Telephone: (413) 545-5872
Email: jeyoung@english.umass.edu


 Caroline Degel
 Instructor of Swedish

Office: Herter Hall 510
Email: cdegel@german.umass.edu


 

Visiting Faculty

Name:
Title:
Office:
Phone: Email:
None        

 

Graduate Students

 Katrin Bahr
 Ph.D. Student

Office: Herter Hall 508
Telephone: (413) 545-2351
Email: kbahr@german.umass.edu


 Jason Doerre
 Ph.D. Candidate

Office: Not in residence
Telephone: Not applicable
Email: jdoerre@german.umass.edu


 Felix Fuchs
 Ph.D. Student

Office: Herter Hall 510
Telephone: (413) 545-2350
Email: ffuchs@umass.edu


 Kirsten Helmer
 M.A. Student

Email: khelmer@educ.umass.edu


 Kevina King
 Ph.D student

Office: Herter Hall 508
Telephone: (413) 545-2351
Email: kevina@german.umass.edu


 Victoria Rizo Lenshyn
 Ph.D. Candidate

Office: Not in residence
Telephone: Not applicable
Email: vlenshyn@german.umass.edu


 Catherine McNally
 Ph.D student

Office: Herter Hall 508
Telephone: (413) 545-2351
Email: cmcnally@german.umass.edu


 Erika Reichert
 M.A. Student

Office: Herter Hall 508
Telephone: (413) 545-2351
Email: ereicher@german.umass.edu


 Jamele Watkins
 Ph.D. Candidate, working towards a certificate in African Diaspora from the Department of Afro-American Studies

Office: Herter Hall 508
Telephone: (413) 545-2351
Email: jamele@german.umass.edu


 Delene Case White
 Ph.D. Candidate

Office: Herter Hall 508
Telephone: (413) 545-6687
Email: dmwhite@german.umass.edu


 Maureen Gallagher
 Ph.D. Candidate

Office: Herter Hall 508
Telephone: (413) 545-2351
Email: mogallag@german.umass.edu
Website: people.umass.edu/mogallag


 Melissa Gazo
 Ph.D. Candidate

Office: Not in residence
Telephone: Not applicable
Email: mgazo@german.umass.edu


 M. Izadi Marshall
 Ph.D. Candidate

Office: Not in residence
Telephone: Not applicable
Email: mizma@german.umass.edu


 Michael Moynihan
 Ph.D. Student

Office: Not in residence
Telephone: Not applicable
Email: moynihan@german.umass.edu


 Claudia Plasse
 Ph.D. Student

Office: Not in residence
Telephone: (413) 545-2351
Email: cplasse@acad.umass.edu


 Rachael Salyer
 Ph.D. Candidate

Office: Not in residence
Telephone: (413) 545-6687
Email: rsalyer@german.umass.edu


 Anshu Sharma-Narayan
 Ph.D. Candidate

Office: Not in residence
Telephone: Not applicable
Email: Not applicable


 Alyssa Wells (Madeira)
 Masters Student - M.A. German, M.M. Musicology

Office: Not in residence
Telephone: Not applicable
Email: amadeira[at]music.umass.edu


 

Staff

Dolkar Gyaltsen
Program Office Manager
Office:
Herter Hall 511
Telephone:
(413) 545-2350

Email: gyaltsen@german.umass.edu

 

Emeritus Faculty

 James Cathey
 Professor Emeritus of German & Scandinavian Studies


 Susan Cocalis
 Professor Emerita of German & Scandinavian Studies


 Sara Lennox
 Professor Emerita of German & Scandinavian Studies


 Sigrid Bauschinger,
 Professor Emerita of German and Scandinavian Studies

Email: bauschinger[at]german.umass.edu


 Lawrence Ryan
 Professor Emeritus

Email: Not applicable


 Harry Seelig
 Associate Professor Emeritus

Email: seelig@german.umass.edu


 

Faculty | Adjunct Faculty | Visiting Lecturers | Graduate Students | Staff | Emeritus Faculty