Spring 2013 Schedule

 January 31 — Emily Barton & Melanie Rae Thon (Memorial Hall)
 March 14 — Lysley Tenorio (University Club)
 March 28 — Clark Coolidge (Memorial Hall)
 April 25 — Matthew Zapruder, Dan Chelotti & Lisa Olstein (University Museum of Contemporary Art, Fine Arts Center)
For nearly fifty years, the Visiting Writers Series has brought outstanding renowned and emerging poets and writers to the university campus for public readings of new work. All are free and open to the public. Information about past readers can be found at the Visiting Writers Series website:

The Visiting Writers Series is sponsored by the MFA Program for Poets and Writers and the Juniper Initiative, and made possible by support from the Massachusetts Cultural Council, the University of Massachusetts Arts Council, the Vice Provost of Research & Engagement, the College of Humanities & Fine Arts, and the English Department.

Emily Barton is the author of two novels, Brookland and The Testament of Yves Gundron, both named New York Times Notable Books of the Year. She has received grants from the Guggenheim Foundation, the National Endowment for the Arts, and the Sustainable Arts Foundation; she has also been awarded the Bard Fiction Prize and a residency at Yaddo.

Melanie Rae Thon is the author of four novels and three collections of short stories, most recently, The Voice of the River and In This Light: New and Selected Stories. Her work has been included in the Best American Short Stories, Pushcart Prize, and O. Henry Prize anthologies. She is a recipient of a Whiting Writer's Award, two fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts, and a Writer's Residency from the Lannan Foundation.

Lysley Tenorio is the author of the short story collection Monstress. His stories have appeared in The Atlantic, Zoetrope: All-Story, Manoa, and The Best New American Voices and Pushcart Prize anthologies. A Whiting Writer's Award winner and a former Stegner Fellow at Stanford University, he has received fellowships from the University of Wisconsin, Phillips Exeter Academy, and the National Endowment for the Arts.

Clark Coolidge is a poet and jazz musician connected to both the Language movement and the New York School. Coolidge’s numerous collections of poetry include Sound as Thought, which was chosen for the New American Poetry Series, This Time We Are Both, Own Face, and Flag Flutter & U.S. Electric. His work is included in the groundbreaking collections An Anthology of New York Poets and in 1968’s The Young American Poets. He is a contributing editor for Sulfur.

Matthew Zapruder is the author of three collections of poetry, most recently Come On All You Ghosts, a New York Times Notable Book of the Year. His poems, essays and translations have appeared in Tin House, Paris Review, The New Yorker, and The Believer. He is a recipient of a Guggenheim Fellowship, a William Carlos Williams Award, a May Sarton Award from the Academy of American Arts and Sciences, and a Lannan Literary Fellowship. He is an editor at Wave Books.

Dan Chelotti is the author, most recently, of x, released by McSweeney's, and of a chapbook, The Eights, which was selected by Yusef Komunyakaa for the PSA's National Chapbook Fellowship. His poems and reviews have appeared in Fence, Boston Review, Gulf Coast, Kenyon Review Online, and many other magazines, and have been anthologized in State of the Union. He was an Assistant Managing Editor for Verse Press.

Lisa Olstein is the author of Radio Crackling, Radio Gone, winner of the Hayden Carruth Award, Lost Alphabet, named one of the nine best poetry books of 2009 by Library Journal, and most recently, the poetry collection Little Stranger. She is the recipient of fellowships from the Sustainable Arts Foundation, Massachusetts Cultural Council and Centrum. Her poems have appeared in many literary journals including The Nation, The Iowa Review, Denver Quarterly, Fairy Tale Review, and Glitterpony. She is a contributing editor of jubilat.

Visting Writers Series Fall 2012