General News

Galman elected to board

Jun 01, 2012

Galman joins executive board of the Gender and Education Association

Assistant professor Sally Campbell Galman, Department of Teacher Education and Curriculum Studies, was elected to the executive board of the Gender and Education Association. Formally established in 2002 (though active from 1997 onwards), the association works to challenge and eradicate sexism and gender inequality within and through education.

Holly Graham, LLC doctoral student, winner of teaching award

May 28, 2012

Holly Graham, a College of Education doctoral student in the Language, Literacy and Culture concentration, is a winner of a 2012 Pioneer Valley Excellence in Teaching Awards sponsored by the Harold Grinspoon Charitable Foundation.

Training the next generation of Afghan educators

May 25, 2012

Training the next generation of Afghan educators CIE collaborates with Kabul Education University.

See the video.



May 21, 2012 - Story from "In the Loop"

Sireci recipient of 2012-13 Samuel F. Conti Faculty Fellowship Award

May 15, 2012

Sireci receives Samuel F. Conti Faculty Fellowship Award

Stephen Sireci, professor, Department of Educational Policy, Research and Administration, and director of the School’s Center for Educational Assessment, was named a recipient of the 2012-13 University of Massachusetts Amherst Samuel F. Conti Faculty Fellowship Awards. Awardees are selected on the basis of demonstrably outstanding accomplishment and potential for continued excellence in research and scholarly or creative activity.

Ives receives Mellon Mutual Mentoring Micro Grant

May 01, 2012

Denise Ives, assistant professor, Department of Teacher Education and Curriculum Studies, received a 2012-13 Mellon Mutual Mentoring Micro Grant through the Center for Teaching and Faculty Development. These grants are intended to encourage early-career faculty to identify desirable areas for professional growth, and to develop the necessary mentoring relationships to make such opportunities possible.

Hunter named NAE fellow

Apr 30, 2012

Ally Hunter, a doctoral candidate in science education, has been named a National Academies Education Fellow in the Life Sciences for the 2011-12 academic year. This honor is given as a result of her selection to and participation in the 2011 National Academies Summer Institute on Undergraduate Education in Biology held at Yale University. Institute participants from 12 research colleges and universities in the northeast assembled at Yale for five days of presentations and discussions focused on enhancing undergraduate education.

Boscardin named pres-elect of CASE

Apr 15, 2012

Mary Lynn Boscardin, Chair and Professor of the Department of Student Development, was elected President-Elect of the Council of Administrators of Special Education (CASE), a 5500 member international professional educational organization which is one of the thirteen divisions of the International Council for Exceptional Children (CEC).

Griffin named Frostburg State University Wellner Scholar

Mar 15, 2012

Linda Griffin, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, College of Education, has been named the 2012 Frostburg State University Wellner Scholar. The Wellner Scholar Program, which honors the late Lillian Wellner, a former FSU registrar and physical education instructor, was created from an endowment from the FSU Foundation, Inc. Each year, the Department of Health and Physical Education at FSU selects one Wellner Scholar to conduct a presentation or workshop for members of the University community.


Subscribe to General News