Alumni News

Doctoral student Runnell-Hall wins Future Leader Award

Jan 15, 2009

Marcella Runell-Hall, a doctoral student in the College of Education, is one of 10 graduate students in the nation to be recognized with the K. Patricia Cross Future Leaders Awards by the Association of American Colleges and Universities (AAC&U).

The awards honor graduate students who are committed to developing academic and civic responsibility in themselves and others, and who show exemplary promise as future leaders of higher education.

U Mass Amherst studies dovetail with Edison Santana's life

Jan 14, 2009

Published in The Republican, Springfield, Mass.
Wednesday, January 14, 2009

Edison Santana (M.Ed. 1988) is a UMass-Amherst graduate all the way, having obtained a bachelor's in psychology in 1982, a master's in education in 1988 and doctorate in philosophy in 1994. He chose UMass-Amherst because of the counseling psychology program in the College of Education at the time he enrolled.

Dr. Mary F. Lenox Honored

Jan 05, 2009

UMass Amherst College of Education alumna Dr. Mary F. Lenox (Ed.D. 1975) was recently honored as a recipient of the Chicago Teachers College / Chicago State University Alumni Association’s 2008 Golden Alumna Award. The award is bestowed upon an alumna or alumnus who is 70 years of age or older, in honor of their consistent service, commitment and dedication to the advancement of Chicago State University.

Dr. Carey Honored - Dr. John C. Carey approved for Fulbright award

Dec 28, 2008

Dr. John C. Carey, professor in the department of Student Development and Pupil Personnel Services and director of the College of Education's Center for School Counseling Outcome Research (CSCOR), recently received the Chancellor's "In the Field" Recognition Award in a public ceremony at the Mullins Center preceding the UMass Amherst-Holy Cross basketball game.

Dr. John C. Carey approved for Fulbright award

Dr. Toran E. Isom Named Arkansas Teacher of the Year

Dec 23, 2008

Dr. Toran E. Isom, (Ed.D 1989) an instructor in University of Arkansas at Little Rock’s Department of Rhetoric and Writing, has been named Arkansas English Higher Education Teacher of the Year by the Arkansas Council of Teachers of English Language Arts (ACTELA.)

The organization of teachers of English language arts cited Dr. Isom for her teaching innovations, research, publication, and service to students, parents, and professional membership organizations. She was presented her award at ACTELA's fall convention Nov. 13.

Dr. Addison Reid new director of diversity at Lesley

Dec 19, 2008

Barbara J. Addison Reid (Ed.D. 1992) was recently named to the position of director of diversity and affirmative action at Lesley University, Cambridge, Mass. She previously served as the Executive Director of Human Resources at Bentley College, where she also taught graduate courses in Human Resource Management.

School of Education Professor Dr. Willett to Receive University President’s Public Service Award

Dec 09, 2008

Dr. Jerri Willett, chair of the College of Education’s Department of Teacher Preparation and Curriculum Studies Department, has been named a recipient of the President’s Public Service Award for 2008, according to the Office of the President of the University of Massachusetts. Dr. Willett will receive the award along with other outstanding faculty at a ceremony and luncheon on Nov. 19 in the Great Hall of the Massachusetts State House in Boston.

Dr. Vijay Kumar, CIE member, co-edits “Opening Up Education”

Dec 01, 2008

The Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching and The MIT Press have published Opening Up Education: The Collective Advancement of Education through Open Technology, Open Content, and Open Knowledge, edited by Toru Iyoshi and M.S. Vijay Kumar (Ed.D. 1986.) The book is available for free download from The MIT Press website under a Creative Commons use license and also for sale in hard copy.

Dr. Howard J. Eberwein III Receives Educational Law Award

Nov 26, 2008

Howard J. Eberwein, III, (Ed.D. 2008) Superintendent of Pittsfield, Mass., Schools, received the Education Law Association’s Joseph C. Beckham Dissertation of the Year Award at the organization’s 54th Annual Conference held in San Antonio, Tx.

Ulysses Byas Visits Namesake School

Nov 17, 2008

College of Education alumnus Ulysses Byas (Ed.D 1977) recently travelled from his home in Macon, Georgia, to Long Island, New York, to celebrate a $31-million reconstruction of an elementary school that bears his name, as reported in a recent issues of Newsday.

The new Ulysses Byas Elementary School, renamed shortly before Byas retired from the school district in 1977, sports not only new classrooms and technology, but a portrait of its namesake, a recent gift from Byas himself.


Subscribe to Alumni News