Alumni News

Can COE Alum Evan Dobelle Remake Westfield?

From The Hartford Courant
Pursuing Vision of a College Town
By Tom Condon
May 3, 2009

It's hard to get more post-industrial than Westfield, Mass. It is called the "Whip City" because of the buggy whips that were made there when horsepower was measured by the horse. That of course was a long time ago. The town has nice neighborhoods and other businesses, but the moribund downtown suggests it hasn't fully recovered from the onslaught of the newfangled automobile.

Dr. Smethurst Interim Head at Pegasus

Dr. Jacqueline Smethurst (M.Ed. 1972, Ed.D. 1984) has been appointed Interim Head of the Pegasus School, Huntington Beach, CA. After a thorough and nation-wide search, Dr. Smethurst received unanimous support from both the search committee and board of trustees. She holds both bachelors and masters degrees in English from Oxford University and a doctorate in Education from the University of Massachusetts Amherst College of Education. She began her career in education at UMass Amherst where she served as a teacher and administrator.

Dr. Sorcinelli is distinguished visiting professor in Egypt

Mary Deane Sorcinelli, Ed. D. 1978, College of Education associate professor, Department of Educational Policy, Research and Administration, and associate provost for Faculty Development, served as distinguished visiting professor at the American University in Cairo from March 15-22. She was the keynote speaker for a conference on “Learners in Focus: Innovative Practices Across the Disciplines” and offered classes and workshops on teaching, learning and faculty development topics.

Alumni update

Rick Haggerty (M.Ed. 1994) was promoted to Senior Behavioral Health Care Manager at the Boston Medical Center HealthNet Plan, a MassHealth managed care organization, where he has been employed at their Springfield, Massachusetts, branch office since February of 2005. Rick and his wife, Tabitha, sons Phil and Patrick, and dog, Brandi, reside in the Florence section of Northampton, MA.

Dr. Khyati Y. Joshi speaks at global security and human rights gathering

Dr. Khyati Y. Joshi (Ed.D. 2001), an associate professor in the Sammartino College of Education at Fairleigh Dickinson University, recently addressed the “racialization of religion” at an international gathering of security and human rights officials in Vienna, Austria. Dr. Joshi, whose research focuses on the experiences of Indian-American Hindus, Muslims and Sikhs, was the only American scholar to make a presentation at the event, which is sponsored by the human rights unit of the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE).

COE Alum Dr. Bill Cosby to receive Mark Twain Prize

College of Education alumnus, entertainer and educator Dr. Bill Cosby (Ed.D.1976) will receive the 2009 Mark Twain Prize for American Humor.

More about the award from The Kennedy Center.

Alumna Dr. Dolly Lambdin wins top award

College of Education alumna and physical education expert Dr. Dolly Lambdin ( Ed.D 1992) received the Physical Education Teacher Education Honor Award from the National Association for Sport and Physical Education (NASPE), the national authority in physical education and leader in setting the standard for practice in sport and physical activity.

Lora McNeece Barrett (Ed. D. 1993) has become the newest partner in Gallery 31

Lora McNeece Barrett (Ed. D. 1993) has become the newest partner in Gallery 31, 31 Main Street, Orleans, MA. The gallery is artist owned and maintained. Lora works in the mediums of oils and pastels, creating landscape paintings right on location (en plein air) or working from the still life in her studio. Lora will have a featured, solo exhibit at the Gallery August 15-28, with an opening reception on Aug 15 from 5-7. She invites COE alumni to stop by!

Kim named interim VC for Student Affairs and Campus Life

COE alumna Jean Kim, Ed.D.1981, a student affairs administrator with more than 35 years of experience, has been named interim vice chancellor for Student Affairs and Campus Life.


Subscribe to Alumni News