Alumni News

Senehi is Founder of Open Future Institute

Gerard Senehi (M.Ed. 1987) started a “Big Questions Project that helps high school and university students to define their lives and futures with meaning and purpose.”  The project “engages students in the exploration of questions relating to choice, purpose, fearlessness, interconnectedness and the bigger picture,” Senehi said.  Big Questions is part of the work of the Open Future Institute, a new non-profit institute of which Senehi is the founder.

Gandini Donates Papers and Research Materials to The Strong Museum

Lella Gandini (Ed.D. 1988), Italian-born author and early childhood educator best known in the United States as the leading advocate for the Reggio Emilia approach to early childhood education, has donated to The Strong in Rochester, New York, a collection of materials that spans her career in education. The Lella Gandini Early Childhood and Children’s Folklore Collection includes research notes, presentations, scholarly articles, books that she has written, and scores of other works in English and Italian on topics such as childhood development, early childhood education, and folklore.

Carolynn Laurenza recognized for her work

Carolynn Laurenza (M.Ed. and CAGS 2008), a college counselor at a charter school in Brooklyn, New York, received a “Counselors That Change Lives” award from the Colleges That Change Lives organization. She was one of seven people to receive the award nationally.  Read more.

Retired teacher Robert Heon releases "The Eccentric English Text"

A feature story in The Republican newspaper, Springfield, Mass., looks at the new book “The Eccentric English Text,” a book of poetry and commentary by Robert E. Heon (M.Ed. 1971), a retired teacher from Springfield who also taught at UMass Amherst for two summers.

Read the article




More Alumni News

Au-Yeung Named Fellow of New Science Teacher Academy

Monica Au-Yeung (M.Ed. 2013), a teaching fellow in the College of Education’s National Science Foundation’s NOYCE Foundation project, has been named a 2013-2014 Fellow of the Dow-National Science Teachers Association’s (NSTA) New Science Teacher Academy, a yearlong program focused on encouraging and supporting early-career science educators.

A teacher at The Charter High School for Arts, Performing and Multimedia (CHAMPS), Van Nuys, CA, Au-Yeung, is among 200 teachers nation-wide selected as NSTA Fellows from more than 1000 applicants.

Bell wins Media Award

A documentary film, “40 Years Later: Now Can We Talk?”, by Lee Anne Bell (Ed.D. 1982), professor and Barbara Silver Horowitz Director of Education, Barnard College, Columbia University, won the 2013 Media Award from the National Association for Multicultural Education (NAME). The film tells the story of the first African Americans to integrate the white high school in Batesville, Mississippi in 1967–69, and shows a provocative and moving conversation emerging from separate discussions with African American alumni, white alumni, and a third dialogue that brings the two groups face-to-face.

Hutchinson is Provost and VP for Academic Affairs at CSU Channel Islands

Gayle Hutchinson (Ed.D. 1990) recently assumed the role of Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs at CSU Channel Islands. She previously served as Dean of the College of Behavioral and Social Sciences at CSU, Chico. She was Chair of the Department of Kinesiology and Chair of the CSU, Chico Academic Senate. In 2005, Hutchinson was selected as one of 39 faculty members and administrators nationwide for the American Council of Education (ACE) Fellows Program, which prepares senior leaders for higher education leadership.

Wilson wins Shank Award

Donna M. Wilson (Ed.D. '08) of Durham, NC, was honored with the Stephen Shank Award for Excellence in Teaching in April from Capella University, Minneapolis. Wilson is a member of the graduate faculty in Capella's online doctoral program in Educational Leadership and Management where she directs dissertation research of secondary and post-secondary educators.

Excellence in teaching awards go to our alums

College of Education alumni are among educators who have been named winners of Pioneer Valley Excellence in Teaching Awards for 2013: Kimberly Scudder (M.Ed. 1986), a special education teacher in Frontier Regional and Union 38 Schools; Tracy M. Creek (M.Ed 2008), a history teacher in the Greenfield Public Schools; Janet Morales (M.Ed. 2013), a former ACCELA participant, and an English Language Learner support teacher for Grades 6-8 at the Maurice Donahue School in Holyoke. Congratulations! (The teaching awards are supported by the Harold Grinspoon Charitable Foundation.)

Stephen H. Grant to give presentation

Stephen GrantOn the occasion of his 50th reunion at Amherst College, Stephen H. Grant (Ed.D. 1972) will give a presentation at the college on "Henry Clay Folger and Amherst" on June 1 in Buckley Recital Hall. Folger, an Amherst College 1879 alumnus, founded the Folger Shakespeare Library in Washington, D.C. in 1932, considered the largest literary gift in American history.


Subscribe to Alumni News