Faculty News

Kamat new member of Global Forum

Oct 28, 2011

Sangeeta Kamat, associate professor, Department of Educational Policy, Research and Administration, has been invited to become a member of the Advisory Committee of the Global Forum on Indian Higher Education, an initiative of the Australia-India Institute at the University of Melbourne in Australia, with the support of other institutions, both in India and elsewhere. This initiative involves the creation of a web-based Global Forum on Indian Higher Education (GFIHE) designed to stimulate conversations around policy developments in Indian higher education.

Dimmitt Receives prestigious Distinguished Teaching Award

Oct 21, 2011

Carey Dimmitt, associate professor, Department of Student Development, has been named a recipient of the 2011 Distinguished Teaching Award for exemplary teaching at the highest institutional level by the UMass Amherst Provost’s Office and the Center for Teaching and Faculty Development. For more than 30 years UMass Amherst has conferred this teaching award that recognizes and honors individual excellence. It is the campus’ most prestigious prize for classroom instruction.

Sireci wins mentoring award from NERA

Oct 19, 2011

Stephen Sireci, College of Education professor, Department of Educational Policy, Research and Administration, was awarded the 2010 Thomas F. Donlon Memorial Award for Distinguished Mentoring from the Northeastern Educational Research Association (NERA.) The award is given in recognition of Donlon’s long and valued contributions to NERA, particularly as a mentor, and is awarded to an individual identified for distinguished mentoring.

Wells and Whitcomb named 2011-12 Family Research Scholars

Oct 15, 2011

The Center for Research on Families has named six UMass Amherst faculty members, including two members of the College of Education faculty, 2011-12 Family Research Scholars on the basis of their promising work in family-related research. The COE scholars, both in the Department of Educational Policy, Research and Administration, are assistant professors Ryan Wells and Sara Whitcomb.

COE outreach includes summer robotics for Springfield students

Oct 10, 2011

From The Republican newspaper
Robotics program wins funding
Friday, April 01, 2011


SPRINGFIELD - The state has awarded a federally funded, $123,900 grant to Springfield to provide a six-week robotics program at Van Sickle Middle School this summer, expected to serve 145 local students.

Launching The Nieto/Rudman Endowed Scholarship Initiative

Oct 08, 2011
An opportunity to acknowledge two iconic SOE faculty

Help us launch an initiative to recognize two of our most respected faculty through a gift to the Nieto/ Rudman Scholarship Fund.

College of Education Professors Emerita Sonia Nieto (Ed.D. 1979) and Masha K. Rudman (Ed.D. 1970) have honored UMass Amherst and the College of Education with a combined 70 years of dedicated and exemplary leadership as they blazed paths to national prominence in their respective fields of multicultural education and children’s literature.

Valdiviezo’s chapter in AERA journal

Oct 05, 2011

The Review of Research in Education, an official journal of the American Educational Research Association, recently published assistant professor, Department of Teacher Education and Curriculum Studies, Laura A. Valdiviezo's co-authored chapter, "Adolescent Literacies in Latin America and the Caribbean" (2011). The volume edited by Stanton Wortham is dedicated to review contemporary research in youth cultures, language and literacy.

Nieto named Fellow of American Educational Research Association

Oct 01, 2011

The American Educational Research Association has announced that College of Education professor emerita Sonia Nieto has been elected a Fellow of the AERA in recognition of her exceptional scholarly contribution to education research in the field of multicultural and bilingual education.

The AERA Fellows Program honors education researchers with substantial research accomplishments. The fellowship conveys the Association’s commitment to excellence in research and emphasizes to new scholars the importance of sustained research in the field of education

Sireci speaks to WFCR about state graduation rates.

Sep 29, 2011

WFCR’s Susan Kaplan spoke with Stephen Sireci, professor in the Department of Educational Policy, Research and Administration and the director of the College of Education’s Center for Educational Assessment about state graduation rates. Hear the interview.


Patricia Griffin named recipient of R. Tait McKenzie Award

Sep 16, 2011

Patricia Griffin, professor emerita, College of Education, has been named a recipient of the 2011 R. Tait McKenzie Award from the American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance (AAHPERD). The award provides the means through which the Alliance recognizes significant contributions of its members made outside the framework of the Alliance, but which reflect prestige, honor, and dignity on the Alliance. Named after the distinguished Canadian physician, sculptor and physical educator, Dr. R.


Subscribe to Faculty News