Launching The Nieto/Rudman Endowed Scholarship Initiative

An opportunity to acknowledge two iconic SOE faculty

Help us launch an initiative to recognize two of our most respected faculty through a gift to the Nieto/ Rudman Scholarship Fund.

College of Education Professors Emerita Sonia Nieto (Ed.D. 1979) and Masha K. Rudman (Ed.D. 1970) have honored UMass Amherst and the College of Education with a combined 70 years of dedicated and exemplary leadership as they blazed paths to national prominence in their respective fields of multicultural education and children’s literature.

Building on funds already donated to the School at the time of their retirements, we are initiating an effort to create an endowed scholarship that will jointly acknowledge the achievements of Drs. Rudman and Nieto. Once established, the Nieto/Rudman Scholarship will be awarded annually to a College of Education student in the Department of Teacher Education and Curriculum Studies, with special consideration to students in the Language, Literacy, and Culture concentration.

Join us as contributors to this endowment fund by making a donation now. If you have already sent a gift in acknowledgement of Dr. Rudman or Dr. Nieto, we thank you and hope that you will continue to support this lasting tribute to two of the schools most beloved scholars, mentors and friends.

To make a contribution online, please click here. Then, click on the link that reads "University's secure donation page." Be sure to select the Nieto/Rudman Scholarship Fund as your allocation. Or send your check to: UMass Amherst College of Education, Nieto/Rudman Scholarship Fund, 813 N. Pleasant Street, Amherst MA 01003. To find out more about this effort, please contact us at 413-545-2705. Thank you very much.