Five faculty receive service learning fellowships

Five faculty members in the College of Education have received 2014 Civic Engagement and Service Learning Faculty Fellowships from the UMass Amherst Provost’s Committee on Service-Learning.  They are:  Benita Barnes, associate professor, Department of Educational Research, Policy and Administration;   Sara Whitcomb, assistant professor, Department of Student Development; Robert Maloy, senior lecturer, Marie-Christine Polizzi, lecturer, and Florence Sullivan, associate professor, all of the Department of Teacher Education and Curriculum Studies. 

The Committee accepted a total of 14 faculty proposals this year, resulting in the largest group of Faculty Fellows in the 20-year history of the program.

The purpose of these fellowships is to help faculty integrate community engagement into a course so that members of the community benefit from the service. Service can take many forms, including placements with organizations and projects designed with community organizations to provide community benefits.  

More Faculty News