Current Graduate Students

Katty Alhayek

My scholarship is broadly centered around themes of gender, refugees, activism, and new technologies with interests in popular culture, critical cultural studies and the role of media in promoting social change and justice.
kalhayek@umass.edu

Mike Alvarez

The representation of cybersuicide in moving image media, and suicidal individuals' use of information and communication technologies (ICTs) to create meaning in their lives.

Felicitas Baruch

Digital media, globalization, social movements, audience studies, immigration

Audrey Black

Through women, gender and sexuality studies I explore issues of identity, visibility, and recognition in narrative media and other popular culture.
ajblack@umass.edu

Alex W. Bordino

My general area of interest is American film history with a focus on documentary forms, and my teaching interests include film/video production and screenwriting.
abordino@umass.edu

Rachel Briggs

Rachel Briggs is a performance studies Ph.D. student and a Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies certificate student; her dissertation research looks at queer subjectivities in the women, gender, and sexuality studies classroom.
rrbriggs@comm.umass.edu

Sarah Cho

My research interests are mainly in social interaction and identity, which are particularly the construction of social categories, and rapport building among different ethnic groups through their everyday talk.
sarahcho@umass.edu

Su Young Choi

I am interested in critical media and cultural studies with a specialization in the media ethnography of social movement.
sychoi8125@gmail.com

Mary C. Dickman

My scholarship examines power relations, deconstructs discursive practices, and explores the relationship between language, thought, and reality; I am interested in how embodied subjects are constructed linguistically, the ways in which bodies are disciplined toward neoliberal ends, and the means that bodies resist normative cultural inscriptions.
mcdickman@umass.edu

Anton Dinerstein

My current research is focused on examining various creative practices and artistic performance in public space, as well as their relation to a bigger social context, including the aspects of identity, politics, and cultural production. I employ ethnographic approach to investigate the meaning and motive behind such communicative events.
adinerstein@umass.edu

Eean Grimshaw

I am interested in examining how language and social interaction are understood in regards to Native American/Indigenous issues, specifically as it concerns language revitalization efforts.
egrimshaw@umass.edu

Carmen Hernández-Ojeda

Drawing from critical communication/performance pedagogy and critical cultural studies, I advocate for using quotidian and staged performances to foster social change. My research contributes to a critical approach to the study of youth bullying.
chernandezoj@umass.edu

Bohyeong Kim

Media and cultural studies, the moral economy of digital culture, cultural studies of finance, media history and the cultural cold war
bohyeong@comm.umass.edu

Dasol Kim

My research interests are in people's daily use of social media, especially how people's ethnic and racial identities are performed in YouTube. I approach this both from a qualitative oriented perspective and social network analysis.
daskim@umass.edu

Ryan LaLiberty

Media history, media archaeology, popular music studies
rlaliberty@umass.edu

Kylie Lanthorn

Critical cultural studies with interests in consumer culture, performance, and environmental communication

Eunbi Lee

Media literacy, community media, and community engagement in the context of social justice and cultural diversity. Especially, I am interested in working with refugees and migrant workers from Southeast Asia.
elee@umass.edu

Camille Martinez

My focus is on the material-discursive practices of environmental communication, performativity and agency in environmental conflicts, as well as multispecies ethnography.
camillemk@gmail.com

Colby Miyose

I am interested in the studying protrayals of masculinity, love, romance, and sexuality in media. I also study Native Hawaiian culture and sovereighnty social movements.

Taliah Mortensen

I am interested in critical cultural studies and rhetoric, with a current focus on how people find and create spaces of belonging under potentially constricting circumstances.
tmortensen@commumass.edu

Kavita Nayar

Critical cultural studies of television and new media
knayar@umass.edu

EJ Nielsen

Interested in monsters, gender, fan studies, and the frequent intersections thereof

Nii Kotei Nikoi

I draw on critical cultural studies and postcolonial/decolonial studies to examine issues of modernity in popular culture.
nnikoi@umass.edu

Eren Odabasi

My research interests include film festivals, film funding and financing, transnational cinemas, and film genres.
eodabasi@comm.umass.edu

Christine Olson

My research explores technological inequalities, digital literacies, and collaborative media production practices.
cjolson@umass.edu

Gamze Onut

Media literacy and youth, digital media, cultural studies
gonut@comm.umass.edu

Wendy Pringle

Critical theories of health/media and culture
wpringle@comm.umass.edu

Menno Reijven

Norms for public political discussions among ordinary citizens
mreijven@comm.umass.edu

Albert Rintrona III

My research is on photographs of and about Japanese and Japanese Americans between 1850 and 1950, and how such photographs inform theories that deal with communication, rhetoric, visual culture, and post-colonial studies.
arintrona@umass.edu

Nimrod Shavit

Ethnography of media production
nimshav@gmail.com

Yijun Sun

My current research interests are in media philosophy and media history, especially how media interweave with science and aesthetics to form cultural technologies. 
yijunsun@umass.edu

Timothy Sutton

I write performance (auto)ethnographies. By quoting history out of context here in the present, I hope to contribute to an inclusive and decolonial imaginary for the future.

J.D. Swerzenski

Through the critical pedagogy and new media literacy approaches, my interest is in uses of media technology in classroom practice, specifically in the service of developing critical thinking and responsible cultural production.
jswerzenskii@umass.edu

Erica Tortolani

Erica's interests include, but are not limited to: film theory and criticism, silent cinema, horror films, German cinema, and gender and sexuality studies.
etortolani@umass.edu

Porntip Israsena Twishime

My work centers narratives of how identity emerges and is performed in the everyday lives of Asian/Asian Americans; in particular, I am interested in how these lived experiences are/become agents of resistance against colonialism, racism, and other systems of injustice.
ptwishime@umass.edu

Stephen Warren

I study television and streaming effects and how to more accurately analyze viewer behavior.
smwarren@umass.edu

Jui-Kai Yang

Critical health communication and popular culture
juikaiyang@umass.edu

Siyuan Yin

My research interests are gender and class inequalities in contemporary China, and civil society forces for progressive changes towards equality and justice.

Danbi Yoo

My research interests include civic media, democratic politics, digital citizenship, and the social impact of computational technology.
dyoo@comm.umass.edu

Soo oak Yoo

My interests lie in the hybridity of culture and consumer desire in terms of individual tastes and self-expression.
soooakyoo@umass.edu

Congcong Zhang

Social media, media effects, new communication technology
zhangcongcong.scu@hotmail.com