Prof. Lynn Phillips recently took part in a week-long television news series that examined sexual assault on campus. The series, which ran on Al Jazeera America TV's news program, America Tonight, included an interview with Prof. Phillips. She also participated in a live panel discussion that focused on campus rape. The panel discussion may be accessed by clicking here and typing in the password "lynnphillips" (without the quotation marks).

Prof. Seth Goldman recently contributed to a New York Times forum on racism in the age of Obama.  A link to Prof. Goldman's commentary may be found here.

Prof. Seth Goldman is among the winners of a national competition for young investigators. He has been awarded a data collection grant through the Time-Sharing Experiments for the Social Sciences (TESS) program, a National Science Foundation initiative that provides funding for experiments to be carried out with large nationally representative samples of Americans. His project, "The Victim Paradox: How Portrayals of Suffering Affect Attitudes about Gay People and Gay Rights," will examine the impact of different media narratives on the attitudes of both heterosexual and gay Americans.

Rosana Urbaez '14, a Communication-Psychology double major from Lawrence, MA, was recently awarded the College of Social and Behavioral Sciences' West End House Scholarship. Read her compelling story here.

Prof. Lisa Henderson's 2013 book Love and Money: Queers, Class, and Cultural Production is a finalist for the annual Lambda Literary Awards—known as Lammys—in the LGBT Studies category. Click here for more information.

Ph.D. candidate Mike Alvarez has just been awarded a prestigious Paul & Daisy Soros Fellowship for New Americans. He is the first Communication student nationwide to receive one of these highly competitive fellowships. The announcement, Mike's bio, and the bios of the other awardees are available here.

See the full list of our award-winning undergraduates for 2014!

Prof. Leda Cooks has been selected to receive the 2014 Thomas Ehrlich Civically Engaged Faculty Award. The Ehrlich Award is given annually to recognize one senior faculty member in the nation for exemplary leadership in advancing students’ civic learning, supporting community engagement, and contributing to the public good. For more information, click here.