Demetria Shabazz, Martha Fuentes-Bautista, Bernadine Mellis (Five College Faculty Member), and Mari Castañeda received a $10,000 digital humanities grant from the Five College Women Studies Research Center to develop a Feminist Media Justice Colloquium

Prof. Claudio Moreira has won the 2013 Norman K. Denzin Qualitative Research Award for his article, "Mother is not Brown: The 'Unmarked' Performance of Keeping the Hair Straight or the Unpolitical Racial Performance of Mother's Hair."  The article was published in Qualitative Inquiry, Vol. 19, No. 8 (Oct. 2013).  Prof. Moreira will receive his award this November at the National Communication Association convention in Washington, DC.

As a boy, Tovar Cerulli spent his summers fishing for trout and hunting bullfrogs. While still in high school, he began to experiment with vegetarianism. By the age of twenty he was a vegan. A decade later, in the face of declining health, he returned to omnivory and within a few years found himself heading into the woods, rifle in hand.

Doctoral candidate Changwook (Ricky) Kim has been awarded a $45,000 visiting research fellowship from the Japan-Korea Cultural Foundation to conduct dissertation research at the University of Tokyo in 2012-13. Changwook’s comparative, multi-sited project will map how creative city policy emerged as a new form of urban politics in Korea and Japan. At UMass, his work is supervised by Professor Paula Chakravartty; in Tokyo, he will be hosted by Professor Tanaka Hideyuki.

Departmental faculty members Martha Fuentes-Bautista and Allison Butler have been selected as members of this year's Community Service Learning Faculty Fellows.

Martha Fuentes-Bautista and Mari Castañeda received a $10,000 grant through the Five College Public Policy Initiative to develop a Media Justice Network (MJnet) in Western Mass and bring Pete Tridish to the Five Colleges as a Social Justice Practitioner-in-Residence.

For more information on the program, please visit

We are delighted to report a new colleague will be joining us as Honors Assistant Professor of Communication in Fall 2013. Dr. Seth Goldman, currently the George Gerbner Post-Doctoral Fellow at the Annenberg School for Communication at the University of Pennsylvania, will be arriving this fall.