Kayla Boisvert

I’ve always had an interest in how the human mind works and learns, social justice issues, and cultures and places different from where I call home. In undergrad, I studied psychology and Spanish, and with my degree, I worked in the field of social work for several years as a therapeutic recreation counselor and later as a drug and alcohol clinician for adolescents.

 

Tired of the “reactive” treatment approach, I transitioned into education where I believed I could work on preventing many of life’s difficulties and working towards a more just, fair, and equitable world. In the Somerville, Massachusetts public schools, I worked in the Welcome Center, a guidance office to support immigrant students in transitioning into Somerville High. In the Welcome Center, we provided “wrap-around” services, recognizing that student achievement is also impacted by outside-of-school issues, including housing, medical, legal, and social/emotional issues. Later, I coordinated the Parent English Program, a program of English classes and support workshops that help immigrant parents feel more comfortable with and become more active in their children’s schools. In the program, I initiated the development of a parent engagement/English language curriculum, facilitated teacher training, and lead outreach and engagement of parents.

 

With great appreciation for Brazilian culture and a desire to work more closely with Brazilian students and their families, I moved to Macaé, Rio de Janeiro, where I worked in a K to 9 English Immersion Program for two years. There, I taught classes and developed curriculum that emphasized fun and interactive learning in natural settings, mimicking how children learn their first language. I created a placement assessment and end-of-year assessments for all grades and levels and trained teachers on the implementation of the assessment. In my free time and with a passion for non-profit and public sector work, I volunteered as a journalistic translator for an Urban Planning and Development NGO in Rio.

 

I’ve since come home to my roots in Massachusetts to pursue a Master’s in Education, which will allow me to further my career in development education. In my free time, I enjoy being outdoors and active, particularly through cycling, triathlon, hiking, and traveling.

Degree: 
M.Ed.
Entrance Year: 
Graduation Year: 
5-year span: 
Status: 
On-Campus Student