Men's World Cup Soccer Spring 2000

CV Stylo

Joaquin Alves, Jose Araujo, Joao Baptista, Paulo Barbosa, Renato Brandao,
Diego De Boado, Demosthenes Dominique, Anderson Dos Santos, Sidonio Fereira,
Joshua Lapointe, Jeff Main, Geraldo Moreira, Tiago Moreira, Henric Toncic, Smith Voiselin, Tyrone Wallace

CVhampionship Game Summary
CV Stylo 3, Repo Man 1

Fourteen teams participated in the competitive and exhausting 3-day tournament. CV Stylo emerged the top team in pool A. In their playoff semifinal, CV Stylo defeated La Resistance, the top team in pool B, 2-1. Repo Man had an easy time in pool play, and in the C vs D playoff semifinal, Repo Man shocked defending World Cup champ Black Outs with a gripping, hard fought 3-2 victory. In the first half of the championship, Repo Man’s Jon Chatalian scored the first goal at the 15 minute mark.

CV Stylo came right back 5 minutes later as Demo Dominique controlled an unpossessed ball and knocked it to the back of the net. A controversial goal came near the end of the first half. Stylo’s Tyrone Wallace took a shot, which Rick Trotta saved but did not control. Wallace regained possession and pushed the ball toward the goal line. The ball lingered on the line for a second and then rolled toward the net. Immediately a Repo Man defender booted the ball out of the area, but the referee blew the play dead and awarded Wallace the goal. CV Stylo led at the half 2-1.

The heat, lack of substitutes, and having the half end on the goal-scoring controversy may have had an effect on Repo Man’s enthusiasm and energy, yet they, nevertheless, started the second half with some good scoring opportunities. But CV Stylo’s co-captain Paulo Barbosa put the game away with a nifty fake on Trotta and lifted the ball past the keeper’s short side. CV Stylo came away victorious with a 3-1 World Cup win.

Repo Man

Kevin Bovell, Jon Chatalian, James Doyle, Ryan Dunham, Mark Eusebio, Fred Frithsen, John Lewis, Brian McGrath, Justin Paradis, Rick Trotta