Men's Weekend Softball Fall 2007

Dutch Masters

Gavin Besmond, Marc Casamassima, Michael Curodossi, Matthew Donalds,
Peter Frederiks, Maxwell Guerrieri, Yonah Halpern, Ryan Moran, Matthew Moriarty, Michael Raymond, Matthew Resnick, Joshua Wohl, Justin Zuckerman

Championship Game Summary
Dutch Masters 7, Masterbatters 3

For the first time in five years, the fall weekend softball tournament crowned a new champion, marking an end to the Limp Richards dynasty of four consecutive titles. Settling this final was between the defending spring 2007 softball champion Masterbatters versus Dutch Masters. Pitching for Masterbatters was captain Bill Thomas, whose success relied on location rather than speed.  Pitching for Dutch Masters was also their captain Matthew Donalds, who relied on his fastball and the defense behind him. In the top of the first, with Thomas on base and one out, Dana Zanni’s bases-clearing blast plated two runners. Dutch Masters’ hurler Donalds closed the door after that to retire the inning. Not daunted by a two-run deficit, Dutch Masters rattled off four consecutive hits, none more game-changing than Marc Casamassima’s bases-clearing homerun for the 3-2 lead. After Casamassima’s homerun, Mike Curodossi and Michael Raymond connected with solo shots for a 5-3 lead at the end of the 1st inning. Despite giving up ten base hits and two walks, Dutch Masters Donalds surrendered only one additional run for the rest of the game. Masterbatters struggled to find their grove with men in scoring position. Except for the first inning, Thomas pitched great the rest of the game, only allowing two runs on three hits. In a game where offense was hot early and defense secured the game, Dutch Masters added two more runs in their half of the 2nd to defeat Masterbatters 7-3 to possibly set up a rematch in the spring.


Nathan Bissonnette, Matthew Chwalek, Matthew Cross, Stephen Dickenson, Peter Kurczy, Jonathan Loughlin, Michael Milano, Devin Scott, Jean-Pierre Telemarque,
William Thomas, Dana Zanni