Men's Wallyball Spring 2013

Wale Ball

Left to Right: Vinny DeMaio, Tarek Dahdul, Dan Aker


Championship Summary:
Wale Ball defeated Dusty Cups 20-12, 20-17

Wale Ball and The Dusty Cups squared off in the Men’s Wallyball Championship; both teams having advanced through upsets of higher seeded semifinal opponents. In the end, Wale Ball, consisting of Vinny DeMaio, Tarek Dahdul, and Dan Aker, came out victorious, defeating The Dusty Cups, composed of Adam Maidmen, Adam Stein, and Michael Breeling.

The first game of the best of three series began tight, with each team trading points. Neither team was able to establish control of the game, with The Dusty Cups using excellent angles off the wall to their advantage, and Wale Ball countering with big swings from DeMaio. However, after tying the game at 12 apiece, it was all Wale Ball. After finding their groove, Dahdul and Aker were consistently able to find DeMaio in positions for the kill. Wale Ball reeled off eight straight points to take the first game 20-12.

After a brief break, The Dusty Cups came out firing in the second game. After trading points to three, The Dusty Cups were able to rip off six in a row, taking a commanding lead. However, Wale Ball gamely fought back, slowly dragging their way back into the game. With the score 17-13 in favor of The Dusty Cups, Wale Ball again went on a run. After ripping off the next seven points, Wale Ball emerged champions. After the match, DeMaio stated, “It was a good game. We were out there to win. We came out with it.”

Dusty Cups

Left to Right: Adam Maidman, Adam Stein, Michael Breeling