Men's Wallyball Spring 2009


(Alphabetical): Atanas Gizdov, Sun Jae Song, Michael Spiro, Rojay Wagner


Championship Game Summary
Smashed defeats Party Planning Committee 2-1

It would take three games to decide this year’s wallyball champion, an exciting matchup between Party Planning Committee and Smashed. It appeared that Party Planning was going to run away with the first game when they jumped to an 11-4 lead. After losing serve, Smashed closed the lead to 11-9. Party Planning’s Dan McComb and Jeff McPherson were instrumental over the next several points for Party Planning’s 18-17 lead. The teams alternated serve nine times before Party Planning sealed the deal in the first game 20-17. 

Game two belonged to Smashed. With great team play and excellent returns from Sun Jae Song, they started fast with a 14-4 lead. Party Planning showed some fight, but Smashed held on to win the second game 20-13.  Game three featured long rallies and little early scoring. With the game tied at three, Smashed broke the Party Planning serve to snatch momentum. Smashed went on auto-pilot to win the next 17 of 22 points. Contributions from each player and several unforced errors from Party Planning easily secured game three 20-8 for Smashed & the wallyball championship.

Party Planning Committee

(Alphabetical): Matthew Grazewski, Daniel McComb, Jeffrey McPherson, Thomas Orszulak