Men's Softball Spring 2011

Ken Keniff
Men's 2010 softball champs

Back Row:  Matt Webber, Harrison Miller, Sam Ostele, David Esteves, John Cuscovitch, Mike Lavoie, Meegan Grabhorn, Steve Fydenkevez
Front Row: Jordan Cote, John Blain, Dylan Pratt, Andrew Bull, Chris Hewins, Ted Sisk

Championship Game Summary
Ken Keniff 6, WINNING 2

Despite being runner-up two years in a row, Ken Keniff was not expected to make it all the way to championship game this year. They lost their first two games in their Just-for-Fun division, seriously jeopardizing their playoff chances after only two games. This was unlike their opponent, WINNING, who scored more than 10 runs in most of their games. Who would win the championship game?  Would it be a team that was consistently dominant or the team who had been here before and got hot at the right time?

Unfortunately for WINNING, Ken Keniff came out ready to play. Thanks to three singles in the top of the 1st, Ken Keniff jumped to a two-run advantage. Ken Keniff’s pitcher, John Blain, came to the mound, already staked a lead, and sat down the first three hitters in order for a rare intramural softball one-two-three inning. This was a start of a mini pitcher's duel that led to no hits until to the top of the third inning.

During the top of the third, Ken Keniff found their bats. Despite four singles from four of the first five batters, Ken Keniff only managed to add one more run to their lead while still looking for that big hit to blow the game wide open. So when Harrison Miller stepped to the plate with bases loaded and one out, there was an immense amount of pressure on him to deliver the big blow.  In probably the highlight of Miller’s intramural career, he delivered a bases-clearing triple to deep rightfield. Unfortunately, he got caught trying to stretch the triple into a homerun.

With runs at a premium, the six-run lead was all pitcher Blain needed to finish off WINNING. Ken Keniff even managed to pull off the elusive intramural softball infield double play in the bottom of the third inning. WINNING managed to score two runs, but never really put any pressure Ken Keniff. After two years of finishing second, Chris Hewins on Ken Keniff said, “This is definitely the best day of my life!” Proud to have finally earned the “INTRAMURAL CHAMPION” t-shirt, Ken Keniff walked away with their heads held high while WINNING wondered what could’ve been.


(Alphabetical): Cody Antaya, Anthony Carloni, Eric Dorenzo, Ryan Fahey,
Robert FitzGerald, Tyler Harmann, Matthew Kusch, Tom Orszulak, Patrick Smith, Joseph Tardif