Co-Rec Softball Spring 2009

The Team Formerly Known as Prince

(Alphabetical): Mary Ambacher, Alex Banyasz, Daniel Brothers, Liana Christy,
John Crimarco, Julie Davis, Sarah Hayes, Allyssa Manyak, Cameron Morley, Brett Sawin, Brandon Tower


Championship Game Summary
Team Formerly Known As Prince 3, Team ULI 2

The championship between The Team Formerly Known as Prince and Team ULI was a clash of two unbeaten teams. Team ULI went 5-0 in their regular season games, followed by two WBFs and a 1-0 win in the playoffs. The Team Formerly Known as Prince was 4-0 in league play and won three playoff games to reach the final. In the championship, both teams brought outstanding defense through seven innings.

In the top of the 8th with a runner on second base, a Team ULI fly ball landed in barren territory in left field, allowing Dylan Petitt to score the game’s first run. In Prince’s half of the 8th inning, Alex Banyasz’s leadoff triple jump-started the offense. Mary Ambacher’s single plated Banyasz. Although Prince sent six runners to the plate in the inning and connected with four straight singles, Team ULI’s defense closed the door with only one run allowed.

Both teams went 1-2-3 in the 9th. In the 10th, Team ULI’s Patrick Donlan scored to put ULI up 2-1. In Prince’s at-bat in the 10th, with one out, Brett Sawin singled. The next batter, Allyssa Manyak’s fielder’s choice forced out Sawin at second base. John Crimarco dug in at the plate as the last hope. Crimarco crushed a triple to score Allyssa Manyak. With the game tied at 2 and Crimarco on third, Sarah Hayes made the third out to force extra innings.

Team ULI went in order in the top of the 11th. In the home half, Brandon Tower led off with a single, but was forced out at second on Dan Brothers’s fielder’s choice. Julie Davis singled to keep the inning alive. Ambacher’s sacrifice advanced the runners to second and third. Sawin stepped to the plate. ULI’s bench was imploring the outfielders to ‘back up.’  The outfielders underestimated the on-fire Sawin. He crushed the ball to score Brothers from third. A walk-off bomb never tasted sweeter as TFKAP captured the championship 3-2.

Team ULI

(Alphabetical): Bryan Archambault, Amy Brennan, Andrew Callagy, Spencer Cowan, Patrick Donlan, Charles Fiorino, Kyle Greenlaw, Kylie Hammond, Valerie Kravis,
Alexandra Lardieri, Kaileigh Maguire, Molly Malandrino, Jessica McVey, Patrick Morris, David Patti, Dylan Petitt, Katherine Smith