Co-Rec Softball Spring 2004

The Wonder Wangs

Caryn Alise, Benjamin Bouffard, Stephen Cerasoli, Zachary Dziczek, Jessica Dominik,
Edward Heaton, Laurin Maruca, Daniel McCoy, Kerry O'Connor, Ann Porten, Sean Robinson,
Rebecca Sosnowich, Thomas Suski, Taylor Traub, Anthony Vesona

Championship Game Summary
Wonder Wanga 9, Kick Assers 8

Wonder Wangs, 3-1 during the regular season, dispatched last year’s champ Bomders 8-6 in the process of winning four playoff games en route to the championship. Kick Assers, 3-0-1 in league play, worked some magic of their own and knocked off last year’s runnerup team Yeat 6-3 to advance to the championship.

In their half of the 1st, Kick Assers plated two runs on three hits. Wonder Wangs failed to score in their half of the 1st. After holding Kick Assers scoreless in the 2nd, Wonder Wangs scored three runs to lead 3-2. Kick Assers plated Josh Tousignant in the 3rd to tie the game, but not for long. In the bottom of the 3rd, Wonder Wangs took back the lead when Zach Dziczek scored on a hit from Jess Dominik. Kick Assers tied the game in the 4th when Chris Donadio scored with back-to-back hits from Kate Biedron and Carl Benander.

Wonder Wangs was held scoreless in the 4th & 5th innings. Biedron and Benander came through again for Kick Assers in the 6th by getting on base and scoring on a Bryan Boehier hit. Wonder Wangs answered right back in the 6th with three runs when Tom Suski’s hit scored Steve Cerasoli, Taylor Traub and captain Dan McCoy.

Tousignant and Benander scored again for Kick Assers and Wonder Wangs added another run in the 7th for an 8-8 tie into the 9th inning. In the bottom of the 9th, Wonder Wangs took lead on successive hits from Cerasoli, Traub & Mccoy. With their final at-bat in the top of the 10th, Kick Assers failed to put any runners on base. The Wonder Wangs’ defense held strong in the end for the dramatic 9-8 win.

The Kick Assers

Carl Benander, Katelyn Biedron, Bryan Boehler, Linh Chau, Christopher Donadio, Courtney Finos, Nina Giombetti, Alisa Kapinos, Kristen Langner, Rachael Nourse, George Paglieroni, Ashley Smith, Alison Suarato, Joshua Tousignant, Elena Tsianakas