Men's Softball Spring 2003

Limp Richards & Soft Balls

Matthew Burstin, Philip Cohen, Matthew Elliott, Kevin Flight, Matthew Flight, Sean Lane, Timothy Maynard, Michael Noon, Mahendra Ramaiah, Jonathan Tortorella, Justin Zerneri

Championship Game Summary
Limp Richards and Soft Balls 6, Stifler's Palace of Lov

This year’s final was a classic match-up between one of last season’s final four teams, Stifler’s Palace of Love, and undefeated powerhouse Limp Richards and Soft Balls.

Limp Richards, a squad of mostly graduating seniors with an abundance of offense, started things off in the top of the 1st when Kevin Flight made Stifler’s pay for a two-out error with a monstrous homerun for the 2-0 lead. Stifler’s Jay Wass ‘jump-started’ his team in the bottom of the 1st with a base hit, followed by a double from John Rooney. With runners on second and third and one out, Sean Hines hit a towering sacrifice fly to left field to score Wass. With Rooney in scoring position, Ryan Gregson’s rip to center field was run down by Limp Richards’ Sean Lane to end the scoring threat.

In the bottom of the 2nd, Stifler’s Vinny Marino stroked an RBI single to score Sean Scanlon and tie the game at 2. The middle innings of the game were dominated by strong pitching and solid defense by both teams. In the 5th, with Limp Richards up 3-2, Phil Cohen reached base on an error and Matt Flight walked to set the table. Pinch hitter Matt Burstin delivered a base hit to load the bases. After two sacrifice flies and an RBI base hit from John Tortorelila, Limp Richards led Stifler’s 6-2 heading into the bottom of the 5th. Any hope of a Stifler’s rally was squashed when Shawn Pleickhardt lined shot was gloved by outstretched third baseman Justin Zerneri, in arguably the defensive gem of the season. Limp Richards snagged the 36-minute championship 6-2.

Stifler's Palace of Love

Ryan Gregson, Joseph Henrie, Sean Hines, Michael Lewis, Vincent Marino,
Nicholas Masters, Brian O'Sullivan, Shawn Pleickhardt, John Rooney, Sean Scanlon, Christopher Valente, Jason Wass