Men's Softball Spring 2001

Sigma Alpha Mu A

Adam Blazar, Dante Carnevale, John Fitsgibbon, David Hollander, Justin Leaf, Joshua Lieberman, Dave Molinaro, Nicholas Ricciardi, Robert (Ernie) Roswell, Adam Silverman, Zachary Slapsys, Adam Umina, Ryan Vigue

Championship Game Summary
Sigma Alpha Mu 15, Bay Street Bombers 11

Intramural’s best --Sigma Alpha Mu and Bay Street Bombers--met for the men’s championship. Bay Street Bombers took an early 3-0 lead. Justin Nee and Jason Dowgiewicz singled and Brett Bergamini cleared the bases with a triple and came home on a fielding error. In the 2nd inning, Bay Street Bombers scored another 4 runs. Bay Street lead 7-0 before SAM winner of two of the last three softball championships, finally woke up. SAM relied on that championship experience to score 8 runs in the bottom of the 2nd, as every person in the lineup had an at-bat.

At the end of the 2nd inning, SAM lead 8-7. SAM added 4 more runs in the 3rd behind Josh Lieberman’s and Dave Molinaro’s powerful bats. Bay Street was not ready to fold yet and scored 4 runs in the top of the the 4th, but SAM still led 12-11. SAM added three more runs in the bottom of the 4th. Dante Carnevale hit a blast to right field and Lieberman followed with a rocket over the left fielder’s head. With SAM leading 15-11 and down to its last chance in the fifth, Bay Street Bombers could not put any runs on the board. For the 3rd time in 4 years, Sigma Alpha Mu was men’s softball champion.

Bay Street Bombers

Brett Bergamini, Matthew Blum, Jason Dowgiewicz, Mark Dukas, Joshua Freeman,
Michael Herzog, Christopher Higgins, William Jerome, Justin Nee, Jeffrey Poirier, Robert Roy, Jeffrey Skinner, Steven Tashjian, Jason Zerfas