Men's Soccer Fall 2008


Erik Alvarenga, Paul Alvarenga, Miles Bisher, Kevin Frechette,
Jacque (JD) Georger, Christopher Kalmbach, Richard Kennedy,
Scott Konieczka, Christopher Maclellan, Christopher Masiar,
Bryan Moynihan, Craig Silver, Scott Strycharz

Championship Game Summary
Dynasty 3, FC United 2

The men’s championship was a much-anticipated match between Dynasty and FC United. In the first minute of the half, Dynasty’s Scott Strycharz scored for the 1-0 lead. FC United was held scoreless until captain Gerald Shkoza’s shot past keeper Miles Bisher tied the game. Later in the half, Shkoza & Bisher faced each other again; this time Bisher made an outstanding save on Shkoza’s rocket kick. FC United continued the offensive pressure, but Bisher‘s heroics in goal kept his team in the match. With one minute left in the 1st half, FC United’s Romen Kocibelli took a wide open shot at goal and scored. On the ensuing kickoff, Dynasty’s Kevin Frechette scored past keeper Eric DeBlois to tie the match.

In the 2nd half, key defensive plays from both teams squashed any scoring opportunities. The 2nd half ended notched 2-2. Two, five-minute overtimes were played and still neither team could score. For penalty kicks, Dynasty put up Craig Silver, Erik Alvarenga, Frechette, Strycharz & Chris Kalmbach. FC United chose to lead Hironobu Sakurai, followed by Anton Pires, Andy Toussaint, Fekadu Tesfahun & Shkoza. PK’s went back-n-forth with successful kicks on goal. The last kicker for FC United was Shkoza. His boot hit the crossbar and bounced away. Dynasty’s Kalmbach could put the match away with a goal. SCORE! It all came down to penalty kicks as Dynasty prevailed in this thriller of a final.

F.C. United

Eric DeBlois, Stanley Gyamfi, Charles Harner, Romen Kocibelli,
Parkie Mbianda, Anton Pires, Hironobu Sakurai, Abdoulie Senesie,
Gerald Shkoza, Fekadu Tesfahun, Guy-Andy Toussaint, Yves Paul