Men's Soccer Fall 2003

Dude Where's the Net?

James Bergeron, Thaivan Bui, Paul Cody, Adam Faria, Jeffrey Jason,
Nicholas Mulvaney, Daniele Paladino, Ross Penney, Robert Roy,
Nolan Schelper, Denny Teason, Ryan Villano, Adam Woelfel

Championship Game Summary
Dude Where's the Net0, Boom 0 (Shootout)

Boom & Dude Where's the Net met during league play with Boom holding on for the 3-0 win. Meeting again in the final, Dude Where's the Net dominated on offense and Boom countered with strong defense. Scoring opportunities were scarce in the first half. Denny Teason of Dude fired a close-range shot that was just wide of the net. Halfway through the first half, a strong corner kick from Boom kept the ball in scoring position for his team, but good defense and nifty work from goalkeeper Nolan Schieper kept the game scoreless.

On this play, Boom's Zach Smith took a point-blank boot but Schieper's hand deflected the ball away. Not to be outdone, Boom's keeper Steve Capistron made some nice saves to keep the game scoreless at halftime. The second half began with a fury. Schieper of Dude made another big save against the Boom offense. Thai Bui of Dude advanced the ball into Boom's zone and made two great shots at net but Capistron held on to the ball. Solid defense from Boom also helped In conquering the Dude offense.

Bui then took another great shot at net by maneuvering around Boom defenders, but Capistron once again came through for his team and marked yet another save. There was another missed scoring attempt by Boom when they outpassed the Dude defense but just could not put the ball past Schleper. Later, Dude found themselves in Boom's zone with a good scoring chance; the Dude defense faked Capistron out of the goal but teammate Smith was there to provide a rebound save.

With minutes remaining in the second half and the game still scoreless, a penalty kick was issued to Dude. What could have been the game was not to be, for Capistron came up big in the clutch in net. On the rebound from the penalty kick, Capistron deflected the ball away. Regulation ended with the teams still scoreless. Two five-minute overtimes failed to produce a champion.

The teams would go to penalty kicks to find a winner. Both the Dude and Boom first kickers made their shots. However, both second kickers missed. The next four players all found the back of the net. The seventh shooter for Boom, and the same player who missed earlier, tried to fake out Schleper but instead hit the goal post. The final Dude kicker booted his last shot past Capistron and Dude Where's the Net was crowned champion in a thriller of a game.


Shamlan Al-Shamlan, Daniel Butler, Stephen Capistron, Jared Cohen,
Joseph Duke, Ryan Gibeau, Christopher Gilbert, Anthony Hopf, Dylan Malynn, Matthew Neffinger, Zachary Smith, Sean Wilmot