Men's Soccer Fall 2002

Now Who's Next?

Gregory Bruno, Alan Collins, David Conlogue, Patrick Conway,
Jason Gehring, Alex Goldstein, Theodore Kakambouras, Jonathan Lakow, Jeffrey McAllister, John McGuire, Edgar Pake, Andrew Patriquin

Championship Game Summary
Now Who's Text 2, So Solid Warriors 2 (Penalty Kicks)

After winning back-to-back fall soccer championships Who’s Next? modified their name to Now Who’s Next in pursuit of their third consecutive title. So Solid Warriors went undefeated in eight games through league play and the playoffs to advance to the coveted game. In the first half, both teams played awesome defense; neither team had a shot on goal until 12:35 of the first half. So Solid goalie Ed McKeever made two amazing saves on Next’s Jon Lakow. Fired up by his goalie’s great saves, So Solid forward Takehiko Nakamura ran down an outlet pass from Eugene Tetlow and scored the game’s first goal at 14:42 past a diving Ted Kakambouras. Later, Lakow tied the game with a ball off the goal post and into the net. The game was knotted at 1 at the half.

The second half was a hard fought defensive struggle with the only shots on goal coming from direct kicks. At the end of the second half, the score remained tied at 1. The defensive struggle continued into the first and second overtimes with only two shots taken by each team. Without a champion by the end of the second overtime, the game went to penalty kicks.

So Solid’s first two kickers, Thorston Schlingmann and Nick Wright, scored but 3rd kicker Eugene Tetlow, failed to score as goalie Kakambouras fully extended to stop the ball at the goal line. Next’s alternating kickers, Greg Bruno, Lakow, and John McGuire, all scored. So Solid’s Tobin McKenna and Next’s Andrew Patriquin booted in goals. With Next up by one kick, Nakamura stepped up with the season on his shoulders. Goalie Kakambouras managed to get a finger on Nakamura’s shot to deflect the ball away, saving the game and securing Next’s third championship.

So Solid Warriors

James Bright, Woodie Dixon, Matthew Madara, Karim Mattar,
Marwan Mattar, Tobin McKenna, Edward McKeever, Takehiko Nakamura, Klas Nilsson, Charles Renn, Thorston Schlingmann, Eugene Tetlow,
Nicholas Wright, Jaroslaw Zasadzinski