Men's Run N' Gun Football Spring 2010

The Gang

Left to Right:  Sun Jae Song, Atanas Gizdov, Rojay Wagner, Michael Spiro, Benjamin Klein


Championship Game Summary
The Gang 34, Busch League 26

The four-on-four run n’ gun flag football tournament featured two experienced teams who survived very tough playoff brackets.  Busch League, last spring’s runner-up, found their way back to the title game despite losing a game in pool play and looking very vulnerable at times.  In the end, however, The Gang prevailed in an exciting title game played for the first time in McGuirk Stadium prior to the annual UMass varsity spring football game.   Busch League began with the ball first and did not waste any time driving down the field, with quarterback Matt Perry scrambling for a 12-yard touchdown dash for the 7-0 lead.  The Gang quickly responded by getting a touchdown of their own on a strike from Rojay Wagner to Atanas Gizdov to tie the score.  Busch League was able to respond once again when Perry once scrambled for a 2 yard touchdown for the 13-7 lead.  The Gang’s Wagner hooked up with one of his receivers again, this time Mike Spiro, on a quick touchdown strike to to give The Gang the one-point lead at the half.

In the 2nd half, The Gang marched down the field and scored relatively quickly.  Spiro again caught a touchdown from Wagner to make it 21-13.  After a penalty pushed Busch League back, Perry didn’t waste any time finding one of his favorite targets in Eric Fenstermaker, who was the recipient of a 38-yard touchdown strike to cut the score 21-20.  Unfortunately for Busch League, anytime they scored it seemed The Gang had an answer.  QB Wagner this time found Ben Klein for a 4-yard hookup.  With the score 27-20 and about 4 minutes left, Wagner found Spiro again for a 5-yard touchdown, his fifth touchdown pass of the game, to put the game virtually out of reach with the score 34-20.  Busch League was able to capitalize on another long score with Perry finding Fenstermaker again for a 35-yard touchdown, but the clock was their enemy.  The Gang held on for a 34-26 victory. 

Busch League
(Alphabetical): Colby Cabral, Eric Fenstermaker, Matthew Perry, Nathan Tatersall