Men's Weekend Football Spring 2008

Busch League

Colby Cabral, Eric Fenstermaker, John Kineavy, Matthew Perry,
Brian Vaccaro

Championship Game Summary
Busch League 33, The Rockers 19

After a long, hard-fought tourney, the 4-on-4 flag football championship came down to Busch League and The Rockers. Busch League got off to a great start with QB Brian Vaccaro completing his first three pass attempts. This drive led to the first touchdown to Matt Perry. The one-point conversion was successful and Busch League led 7-0. The Rockers quickly answered with a 25-yard touchdown pass to Andrew McQuilkin on their second play from scrimmage. They failed to convert the PAT with an untimely drop in the end zone. Busch League held the 7-6 lead. On their second possession, Busch League used a key run from Vaccaro to grab a first down on 3rd and short. On the next play, Vaccaro threw a missile to Colby Cabral on a crossing route for their second score of the day. After a penalty for illegal contact, Busch League failed to convert the PAT. Busch League lead 13-6 with three minutes left in the 1st half. With stingy zone defense by Busch League, The Rockers on their second possession turned the ball over on downs. On Busch’s first play from scrimmage, Perry’s pass was picked off by McQuilkin and returned for a touchdown. Another untimely drop on the PAT left the score 13-12 at the half.

To start the 2nd half, The Rockers were closed out again by tough defense. On Busch’s first play, Perry connected with Cabral in the endzone. A successful conversion gave Busch League some breathing room 20-12. Busch’s Eric Fenstermaker came up with a key sack on defense and The Rockers again turned the ball over on downs. On a draining 5-play drive, Busch’s Vaccaro’s deft crossing pattern freed him up for the score. Another successful PAT made the score 27-12. The Rockers’ attempted bomb down the sideline fell 2 yards short of its intended target, Stephen Byrd. On the next play, Jordan Grinstein’s scramble netted 20 yards. Then, McQuilkin’s catch and TD scamper on a short crossing route brought The Rockers closer at 27-19. Using up the remaining time in the 2nd half, Busch League put up another score with an 8-yard out to John Kineavy to put the game out of reach. The Rockers’ desperation plays fell short and Busch League cruised to the well-deserved 33-19 title.

The Rockers

Stephen Byrd, Gregory Ead, Jordan Grinstein, Andrew McQuilkin,
Mario Moreira