Men's Ice Hockey Fall 2009


Back row:  Steven Zerneri, Ryan Sifferlen, Sean Kasle, Matthew Conway, Brian Bartolucci, Andrew Locke
Front Row:  Jay Thornton, Frank Sorrentino, Kevin Flanagan, Justin Trischitta, Richard Murray

Championship Series Summary
Team Bartolucci defeats Sperm Whales 2 games to 1

Game one started with high intensity from both teams. Team Bartolucci won the faceoff and controlled the puck to start the game.  A pass from Team Bartolucci was intercepted by Sperm Whales and with a crisp outlet pass to Cory Arsenault, Sperm Whales moved from defense to offense. Arsenault moved the puck down the ice and scored the first goal of the game. The rest of the first period was full of action as both teams fought to score the next goal. With just over one minute left in the first period, Mark Jackson scored the second goal for the Sperm Whales.

The second period started with the same high octane pace.   Sperm Whales fought to control the puck and take time off the clock, trying to maintain their 2-goal lead. With 6:35 left in the period, Mike Daniels of the Sperm Whales redirected a rebound and scored the team’s third goal. This goal seemed to deflate Team Bartolucci and their players seemed to slow down and skate less aggressively. With just under 2 minutes left in the period, Ryan Sifferlen of Team Bartolucci scored the team’s first goal of the game with an assist from Steve Zerneri.

The third period was played at a much slower pace.  Sperm Whales were content to control the puck as much as possible and take shots only after taking some time off the clock. Team Bartolucci seemed flat from the start of the period and it was clear that the players may have been thinking ahead to game 2. Both Ben Buckley and Mark Jackson from Sperm Whales scored goals.  It was Jackson’s second of the night.  Team Bartolucci’s Sifferlen scored his and the team’s second goal.  Sperm Whales took game one 5-2. 

Game two was the mirror image of game one.  Team Bartolucci won the faceoff and had the first shot on goal ten seconds into the game.  At 12:58, Team namesake Brian Bartolucci broke through and netted the first score of the game.  At 10:40, Sifferlen shot a rebound back on goal and the score was 2-0.  At 7:42, Bartolucci struck again, this time unassisted.  Bartolucci goalie Richie Murray was spectacular between the posts.  He denied Sperm Whales’ Arsenault on a breakaway.  This seemed to break Sperm Whales’ spirit.  They gave up another goal to Zerneri with 2:20 in the left in the first.  Finally with 32 seconds remaining in the first, Sperm Whales got on board to make it 4-1.

The second period saw no scoring, but plenty of penalties.  Sifferlen and Zerneri each netted their second goals late in the third as Team Bartolucci pulled away to set up an exciting winner-take-all rubber match! 

In game 3, both teams played much more physically.  Sperm Whales got on the board first with Jackson’s goal at the 8:20 mark.  Steve McLean notched a second goal for Sperm Whales with 3:14 left in the period.

The second period was played at a faster pace, with Team Bartolucci pressuring Sperm Whales at both ends of the ice.  Sifferlen scored early to put Team Bartolucci on the board and make the score 2-1, Sperm Whales. The teams traded goals with under five minutes left in the period. Matt Conway scored for Team Bartolucci.  McLean responded by scoring his second goal of the game.  Team Bartolucci tied the score just before the end of the period.

The third period was very physical with players scrapping and fighting for the puck.  Both goalies were stingy in the net.  However, with 4:18 left in the game, Team Bartolucci’s Sifferlen scored the go-ahead goal for the 4-3 lead. This was Sifferlen’s sixth goal of the championship.  With 2:15 left in the game, Sperm Whales pulled their goalie.  Team Bartolucci held on to their lead and stopped a strong, final push from Sperm Whales.  After losing the first game, Team Bartolucci took the final two games to win the championship. 

Sperm Whales
(Alphabetical): Cory Arsenault, Benjamin Buckley, Lee Castignetti, Michael Cahoon, Michael Daniels, Mark Jackson, Stephen McLean, Sean McNally, Joseph O’Brien, Robert Sullivan, Joseph Ward