Men's Ice Hockey Fall 2006


Thomas Blackney, Brett Blanciforti, Tony Brennan, Joshua Caswell,
Christopher Cobb, Stephen (Jeff) Daddio, Sean Degnan, Marc McCabe,
Kevin Morrissey, Brian Murphy, Donald Murphy, Daniel Picard, Reed Powers,
Leo Rusk

Championship Game Summary
Tuna defeats Meatspin 2-6, 5-3, 2-1

Ten teams vied for the 2006 ice hockey championship. Tuna entered the tournament as the 2nd seed from the Smythe Division and easily handled Brew Crew 6-1 in a quarterfinal game. Tuna dispatched the number one seed from the Patrick Division, Top Dog, 5-0. Meatspin, the 1st seed from the Smythe Division and a ‘singles’ team, marched through The Rippers 5-1 and The Shamrocks 2-0 to gain their first berth in the championship series. In game one, goalkeepers, Adam Williams and Leo Rusk, held tight until Garret Fidalgo, assisted by Matt Ramoundos, put Meatspin up 1-0 at the 5:13 mark. Mike Cappucci, assisted by Brian McLean, scored for Meatspin to end the first period.

Meatspin’s Tim Matthews and McLean assisted by Jeff Bellanti and Jack Keverian, respectively, seemingly put the game out of reach early in the second period. At the 6:00 mark, Tony Brennan from Tom Blackney ended Williams’s shutout. Sean Degnan from Brennan scored the first goal of the third period for Tuna. However, Williams turned it up a notch and shut down Tuna the rest of the way. McLean, unassisted and Bob Hennessey assisted by Matthews, scored within one minute of each other. Meatspintook the first game 6-2 from a stunned Tuna squad.

Game two saw a different complexion for Tuna. On a rebound, Brett Blanciforti pushed the first goal of the game by Meatspin’s goalie Williams with 6:28 left in the first period. Three minutes later, however, Meatspin’s Ramoundas tied the game. Both goalies were busy in the first period; Tuna’s Rusk stopped 5 shots while Williams stopped 4. In the 2nd period, Tuna cranked up the heat on Williams. Tuna’s Dan Picard notched a pair of goals in the span of a minute. Meatspin’s Cappucci scored with 8:41 left in the period, thanks in part to a rare Tuna defensive lapse. With the score 3-2, Tuna was not about to let up in the 3rd period. Right from the gate, Brennan scored at 14:25 and captain Chris Cobb closed out the scoring with eleven minutes left in the game. Meatspin was seemingly offensively befuddled for the remainder of the game. Meatspin’s Williams stopped 17 shots on goal while Rusk made 7 saves en route to Tuna’s 5-2 win.

Both goalkeepers, Williams and Rusk, continued their outstanding play in game three. At the 5:33 mark of the first period, Dan Gyllstrom scored unassisted for Meatspin during Tuna’spowerplay. With one minute left in the first period, Brennan, assisted by Jeff Daddio, tied the score 1-1. In the 2nd period, Williams was peppered in goal by the Tuna attack; he stopped them all until at the 1:23 mark when Donnie Murphy, assisted by captain Cobb, scored the go-ahead goal that would prove to be the game winner.  Meatspin went all out to score the tying goal in the third period. Tuna also ratcheted up their defense. In their final attack, Meatspin pulled their goalie to go two-men up on their powerplay, but to no avail. Tuna held on to win the game 2-1 and the championship.


Jeffrey Bellanti, Timothy Bresnahan, Michael Cappucci, John Dunn, Garrett Fidalgo,
Thomas Giampapa, Daniel Gyllstrom, Robert Hennessey, Jack Keverian,
Timothy Matthews, Brian McLean, Christopher Memmo, Stephen Pause,
Matthew Ramoundos, Thomas Renaud, Adam Williams