Men's Ice Hockey Fall 2005

Brew Crew

James Brown, Stephen Bullock, Burke Dignam, Pat Galluzzo, Brad Gurda, Andrew Holmes,
Thomas McNamara, John Moore, Mike Nashawaty, Charles Rand, Tim Rode, Peter Slepchuk, Tom Sullivan, Paul Tafe, Brian White

Championship Game Summary
Brew Crew defeats 30 Racks 2-0, 4-2

Eight teams vied for the ice hockey championship. Brew Crew entered the playoffs as the 5th seed and barely squeaked by Darren and the Rippers 6-5 in overtime. In a smartly played quarterfinal game, Brew Crew dispatched the #1 seed and defending champion Ram Rod 4-2. 30 Racks, seeded 2nd, marched through Hammerfaced 6-1 and District 5 3-0 to gain their second straight berth to the championship series. In game one, James Brown put Brew Crew up 1-0 at the 8:50 mark. It was the only goal that John Gentile let in, but it was enough. Mike Nashawaty shut out 30 Racks. Pat Galluzzo added an empty-net goal for Brew Crew’s 2-0 win.

In game two, 30 Racks peppered Nashawaty for most of the 1st period to no avail. Brew Crew’s Burke Dignam wrapped the puck around the net and through Gentile at the 9:46 mark. At the 13:12 mark, Alex Sage scored to tie the game. Later in the 2nd period, Brown scored and Brew Crew hung on to the slim 2-1 lead. In the 3rd period, Dignam’s second unassisted goal put Crew up 3-1. Brendon Ellis’s score at 5:30 gave 30 Racks new life. With one minute left in regulation, 30 Racks pulled their goalie. In a replay of game one, Galluzzo escaped with the puck and scored another empty netter, this time with 2 seconds left in the game. Brew Crew captured the championship with a game two 4-2 score over a gallant 30 Racks squad.

30 Racks

William Bottomley, Christopher Burati, Kevin Dean, Christopher DiRico, Travers Doane, Brendon Ellis, Colin Foley, John Gentile, Gabe Miller, Alex Sage, Christopher Samborato, David Stone, Daniel Terk, Michael Terk, Michael Yanni