Men's Ice Hockey Fall 2001

Defending Champions

Chris Ahern, Luke Antolini, Mike Antolini, Christopher Corcione, Ian Flaherty, Al Gregorio,
Gary Kelley, Justin Kesselman, Justin O'Grady, Gary Oram, Andrew Podolski, Matthew Semprucci

Championship Game Summary
Defending Champs defeated "A" Team 9-1, 4-2

Twelve teams in two divisions vied for the ice hockey championship. Defending Champs, last years UMass Bleu Zones, captured the Patrick division with a perfect 7-0-0 record. In the playoffs, Defending Champs kept their unblemished record alive, squeaking by a tenacious UMass Blazers 3-2 and winning in penalty shots against last years runnerup, McMurphy’s Hackers. “A” Team, also from the Patrick division, were 4-2-1 in the league, then crushed Tapa Kegga 18-0 and topped North Central All Stars 2-1. In game one of the championship series, Chris Corcione scored twice in the first period to put Defending Champs up 2-0. In period two, Justin OGrady, Andrew Podolski and Luke Antolini each scored for a comfortable 5-1 lead. Dan Davies scored the lone goal for “A” Team. In the third period, L. Antolini, Al Gregorio, OGrady and Podolski all scored to cruise to the 9-1 win.

In game two, goalie Matt Franco made one huge save after another before giving up the lone score of the first period to Gregorio. Goalies Franco and Justin Kesselman held their ground throughout most of the second period before O'Grady pounced on a rebound to score. L. Antolini assisted by Corcione scored in the third period to give Champs a seemingly insurmountable lead. “A” Team had plenty of fight left. Andrew Coletti scored unassisted at 3:12 to cut into the lead. Less than two minutes later, Pat Schaeffer made it a one goal game. “A” Team pulled Franco and pressed hard for the tie. Defending Champs cleared the puck from their zone and Gregorio raced ahead and scored in the empty net. Defending Champs won 4-2 and captured the title and a second perfect season.

The "A" Team

Shaun Allard, Damon Carlson, Andrew Coletti, Dan Davies, Bill Finn, Matt Franco, Jim Gogan,
Mike Herzog, Dan Lodi, John Lodi, Pat Schaeffer, Gary Smith