Men's Flag Football Fall 2010

Dirt Lips

(Left to Right) BJ McDonald, Thomas Ciulla, Marc Jesi, Paul Kozak, Eddie Leonard, Brad Linehan, Marc Linehan, Pat Yeo, Jay Zenga


Championship Game Summary
Dirt Lips 19, Pike 14

The 2010 men’s flag football championship was one of the most exciting in UMass history.  Pike was vying to become the first "Just for Fun" team to be crowned champion in any major intramural sport.  Their opponent, Dirt Lips, was not eager to become a footnote in history.

Pike started with the ball and marched down the field with an impressive eight-minute drive.  However, Dirt Lips were able to make a goal line stand to keep Pike off the board.  Dirt Lips were not able to muster anything on their first drive and were forced to punt.

On Pike’s second possession, Matt Trauner completed a long pass to Jeremy Fontaine to move into Dirt Lips territory. Trauner’s legs did the rest, as he rushed for a touchdown from a yard out. Trauner completed the point after attempt to David Mitchell to give Pike a 7-0 lead.

Andrew Sherman was a disruptive force on the defensive side of the ball for Pike in the first half. He had three sacks, which put Dirt Lips in long down and distance situations.

In the second half, Pike stopped Dirt Lips on their first possession.  Trauner then marched Pike down the field and threw for a touchdown. The PAT was successful and Pike led 14-0. This would be Pike’s last score of the game, but would it be enough? 

Dirt Lips finally got on the board in their next possession. They cut Pike’s lead to 14-7 after the point after attempt.  On this drive, Pike lost Taylor Ross, one of their defensive leaders, to injury.  On Pike’s next drive, Dirt Lips came up with a huge interception to give them a chance to tie. Dirt Lips scored a TD, but failed to convert the PAT. It appeared that Pike was in the driver's seat for the win.

However, Pike made some questionable decisions with play-calling and stopped the clock on multiple occasions. This unfortunate decision-making gave Dirt Lips the ball back. Dirt Lips drove the length of the field and scored the go-ahead touchdown with 20 seconds left in the game. Pike had the ball back one last time, but Dirt Lips intercepted the ball to win the game.

{Photo not available}

Jeremy Fontaine, Nick Beaudoin, Tarik Kafel, David Mitchell, Taylor Rossi, Andrew Sherman, Matt Trauner, Kyle Wright