Men's Flag Football Fall 2006

Sleepy Sheep

Thomas Blackney, Michael Bulger, Joseph Collins, James DeStefano,
Kyle Elliott, Joshua Griffin-Ryder, Peter Kelly-Joseph, Brent Richard, Patrick Sullivan, Denny Teason,
Connor Thompson, Ian White

Championship Game Summary
Sleepy Sheep 27, DC Bombs 26

Sleepy Sheep & DC-Bombs were both 3-0 in league play. In the playoffs, both teams won five games en route to the championship. Sleepy Sheep outscored its opponents by an average of 20 points prior to the final. In the capper, DC-Bombs won first possession at the coin toss. Sleepy Sheep handed quarterback Drew Russell a quick de-flagging to set the tone of the game.  Possession went back and forth for a good portion of the first half with some solid offensive screen blocking by DC-Bombs and defensive pass deflections by Sleepy Sheep’s QB Ian White.  The first touchdown of the game was scored by Sleepy Sheep’s James DeStefano on a short pass from White. DC-Bombs denied any extra points. Sleepy Sheep led 6-0 at the half. DC-Bombs’ Sean Stone scored in the second half on a perfect long toss from Russell.  Frequent interceptions, possession changes & a stunning point-after-touchdown defense for both teams lead to a 13-13 tie game at the end of the second half. True to the outstanding game thus far, double overtime was needed to decide this year’s flag football champion. Each team had an opportunity to win the game in the tie-breaking format. In the end, outstanding PAT defense and a second touchdown catch in the back of the endzone by DeStefano sealed the Sleepy Sheep 27-26 win.


Nathan Akey, Ross Anti, Mark Arbonies, Thomas Cacciola, Patrick Fedigan,
Daniel Goldberg, Bradford Nichols, Dustin Parker, Drew Russell,
Sean Stone