Co-Rec Flag Football Fall 2006

Axis II Ballers

Ryan Chang, Anita Christie, Linda Chung, Amy Claxton, Michael Constantino, Bryce Jones, Sarah Kozey, Mark Manning, David Marquez, Karen Riska, Pedro Rodrigues, Trampas Tenbroek

Championship Game Summary:
Axis II Ballers 40, Happy Happy Hippos 30

The highly anticipated co-rec final between Axis II Ballers and the Happy Happy Hippos began with an exclamation point that would shed light to the eventual winner. Ballers QB Mike Constantino, after several short completions, connected with his star receiver, Sarah Kozey, for a touchdown. After a successful PAT, the score was 10-0 Axis II Ballers. The Hippos first possession looked promising with a completed first down. However, Hippos QB Joe Collins threw an interception to the corner of the endzone which resulted in a Ballers touchback. After an excellent defense series by the Hippos, the Ballers were forced to punt. With Hippos QB Joe Collins suffering a hamstring injury, Ian White stepped in to play QB. On the Hippos first play, QB White connected with Sarah Rudov for a touchdown. A successful PAT tied the score at 10. The remaining five minutes of the half were highlighted by two costly interceptions by Ballers QB Mike Constantino that resulted in points. The first interception was returned for a touchdown by White. The second interception by Hippos’ Brent Richard ended a Ballers scoring threat. At the end of the first half the score was 23-10. In the 2nd half, the Ballers were not going to be denied. They played an inspired half highlighted by a tremendous defensive effort that, with the combination of fantastic pass rush and pass coverage, resulted in four interceptions and ultimately the championship.  Axis II Ballers outshined the Happy Happy Hippos 40-30. Sarah Kozey lead all scorers with eighteen points and an unmatched defensive effort with constant pressure on the quarterback while recording three sacks.

Happy Happy Hippos
Lindsay Boffoli, Michael Bulger, Meghan Casey, Joseph Collins,
James DeStefano, Lindsay Higgins, Brittany Hutton, Peter Kelly-Joseph, Susan King, Lauren MacDonald, Robin Pinzone, Brent Richard, Sarah Rudov, Denny Teason