Men's Flag Football Fall 2002

Bomb Squad

Matt Araneo, Matthew Banks, Eric Bauzer-Lausberg, Peter Bottachiari,
Jarrod Canute, Brett Casagranda, James Doyle, Rafael Gonzalez,
Sibusiso Ranuga, Brandon Ronca, Steve Williams

Championship Game Summary
Bomb Squad 34, Hammer Time 12

Defending champion Hammer Time and Bomb Squad squared off in the championship. On their first possession, Bomb Squad’s quarterback Jarrod Canute threw for the game’s first touchdown to Brett Casagranda. The extra point was no good and Bomb Squad led 6-0. After playing tough defense, Bomb Squad got the ball back. Canute scrambled and ran for a twenty yard touchdown. He also ran in the two-point conversion and Bomb Squad led 14-0.

On the ensuing drive, Hammer Time drove down the field, but Canute frustrated them by picking off a pass in the endzone. Great defense from both teams kept the points off the board for a 14-0 Bomb Squad lead at the half. Hammer Time started the second half with the ball. Quarterback Rob Beckworth led an impressive drive down the field, capped off by a five yard touchdown run from Tim Kujawski. The point after failed and Bomb Squad led 14-6 with fifteen minutes left in the game.

Hammer Time’s defense still had no answers for Canute as he ran in another touchdown and extra point to make the score 21-6 in favor of Bomb Squad. Beckworth again led Hammer Time down the field, but Matt Araneo made a huge play by intercepting Beckworth’s pass in the endzone. Canute again made Hammer Time pay by connecting with James Doyle for a twenty five yard touchdown pass. After Canute ran in the extra point, it was 28-6 Bomb Squad. Hammer Time’s Kujawski countered, by hitting Mike Discolo with a forty yard touchdown pass.

Hammer Time missed the two-point conversion and, trailing 28-12, needed a turnover. Bomb Squad made no mistakes this night as they ran out the clock and finished it as they started with Canute hitting Casagrande with a touchdown pass to end the scoring and capture the 34-12 win.

Hammer Time

Robert Beckworth, Michael Discolo, Francis D'Ippolito, Ethan Gundel,
John Hurst, Timothy Kujawski, Robert Perkins, Matthew Senesi, Jeffrey Smith